Basil & Parmesan Bread

I love baking, from little Cup Cakes to a big indulgent Chocolate Cake and savory pies. One thing I had not tried was baking my own Bread. I was always a little intimidated by how much time and effort you had to put into bread making. I watched an episode of Home Cooking Made Easy which showed how to bake bread in just an hour, the recipe looked a very simple and quick to make. I decided to give it a go with a few changes the original recipe had grated Cheese and some Ham but as I didn’t have any in I made it simply with some torn Basil. I was surprised when it turned out really well and I used it to make our sandwiches the next day. It very satisfying making your own bread and now I have seen how easy it can be I am going to try making lots different flavoured breads.

Ingredients (for one Loaf of Bread.)Home made Basil & Parmesan Bread.

425g Self Raising Flour + extra for dusting
200-300ml Water
1tsp Baking Powder
1tsp Salt
30g Parmisan.
A handful of Basil leafs – torn

Recipe.

Preheat your oven to 200C/400F/Gas 6. In a large mixing bowl Sift the Flour, Baking Powder and salt and stir together. Wash and tear the Basil and add to the mix.

Make a well in the center and pour in 200ml of cold water. With a spoon stir the water through to form a Dough. You may need more than 200ml of water but it will depend upon how wet your Dough is. It needs to stick together and form a single lump.

Pull the Dough out of the bowl onto a floured work surface. Form the dough into a round loaf, see the picture for the rough shape. As you are working the dough into shape pull the sides into the middle folding them over. Once you have a smooth shape pop it on to a baking tray lined with baking parchment or grease proof paper. Sprinkle the top with the Parmesan.

Bake in the center of a hot oven for 35-45mins and enjoy a kitchen that smells wonderful as it bakes. To test if whether the bread is ready tap it on the bottom, If it sounds hollow its ready to eat. Enjoy warm from the oven or as sandwiches the next day.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/russellskitchen/sets/72157628101536507/

2 responses to “Basil & Parmesan Bread

  1. I love baking my own bread and Im going to try your recipe tomorrow. One thing that I can recommend is using bread flour made from red wheat. The results are amazing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

