Seeded Wholemeal Bread

I enjoyed baking my Olive & Basil Bread and Basil & Parmesan Bread and decided to get back in the kitchen and bake some more for last weeks packed lunches. The recipe is similar to that I used for the previous two Bread recipes in that it is quick to make with no kneading, Proving or Rising to be done.

#3 Flour & friends

Image by mrlins via Flickr

I wanted to make this a Healthier recipe and so this time I used Wholemeal Flour and finished the bread with some seeds. Although I was making a healthier loaf I still used a little Parmesan to flavour the bread otherwise it could have been a little plain tasting.

Adding the seeds on top did not really change the flavour much, really they were just for presentation but they did make the bread look very nice an perhapse a little more professional than my last loaf. Used Sunflower Seeds but you could use your favourite or any you have to hand. I also recommend dusting with a little flour before popping it into the oven to bake.

Ingredients for One Loaf of Bread

425g Wholemeal Flour + extra for dusting
200-300ml
1tsp Baking Powder
1tsp Salt
50g Grated Parmesan

A large handful of Seeds, I used Sunflower Seeds

Recipe.

Preheat your oven to 200C/400F/Gas 6. In a large mixing bowl Sift the Wholemeal Flour, Baking Powder & salt and stir together. Stir through the in the grated Parmesan.

Make a well in the center and pour in 200ml of cold water. With a spoon stir the water through to form a Dough. You may need more than 200ml of water but it will depend upon how wet your Dough is. I found I needed vary the amount of water each time I have baked this recipe.

Pull the Dough out of the bowl onto a lightly floured work surface. If you use too much flour you will affect the mix. Form the dough into a round loaf, see the picture for the rough shape. As you are working the dough into shape pull the sides into the middle folding them over and smoothing as you go. Once you have a smooth shape pop it on to a baking tray lined with baking parchment or grease proof paper. I as the dough I had was a little wet I could sprinkle the seeds over the bread and they stuck pretty well.

Bake in the center of a hot oven for 35-45mins and enjoy a kitchen that smells wonderful as it bakes. To test if whether the bread is ready tap it on the bottom, if it sounds hollow its baked through.

I think this loaf made the best sandwiches so far but watch out because it only lasted two days before spoiling. This was much quicker than any I have baked before an I was a little shocked. Next time I bake it I will bake it in the morning and make sure I can use it all up in two days.

Leave a Reply

