Cupcakes

I have a very big sweet tooth and I love all manner of treats. After baking some Healthy Brown bread it was time to indulge my sweet tooth. Any time I can, I like to get into the kitchen and bake up something sweet and delicious. When I have time to spare (or if it’s for a birthday) I will take the time to bake a nice big cake. But when it’s a weekday evening or if I am in a bit of a hurry I will bake one of my favourite sweet treats, Cupcakes.

I bake them every so often so there are usually a few to be scoffed in Tin in the kitchen. We have a Cupcake cookery book and I have gradually worked my way through it. I have popped in pictures of different Cupcakes I have baked in the past.

As much as I love baking Cupcakes, when it comes to decorating them I am still trying to improve. I think the cakes I have baked look good and I am am happy with them but I am always trying to improve my decorating technique.

I intended to bake Chocolate-Orange Cupcakes last week but part way through baking I found I did not have enough Orange juice so I had to improvise somewhat.

Chocolate – Orange & Lime Cupcakes

Ingredients for 12 Cupcakes

115g Plain Flour
3tbsp Cocoa Powder
1/2tsp Bicarbonate of Soda
50g Caster Sugar
Juice of 1 large Orange
100ml Smoothie (I used Innocent Kiwis, Apples & Limes Smoothie)
Grated Zest of 1/2 Orange (the rest will be used in the Icing)
3tbsp Sunflower Oil
1 1/2tsp White Wine Vinegar

For the Icing

100g Butter at room temperature
200g Icing Sugar
1tbsp Cocoa Powder
Grated orange zest left over from the Cakes

Recipe

Preheat the oven to 180C/160C fan/gas 4. Sift the Flour, Cocoa Powder and Bicarbonate of Soda into a large bowl. Sift in the sugar and stir to combine. Make a well in the center.

In a separate jug mix together the Orange Juice, Zest, Oil, Smoothie and White Wine Vinegar. Combine the wet and dry ingredients in the bowl. The Mixture will be quite wet and gooey (a lot more than I am used to).

Spoon the mixture into 12 Cupcake cases and bake in the center of the oven for  for 25 mins

For the Icing

To decorate, beat the softened Butter, Icing Sugar and Cocoa together until dark and smooth. Beat in the Orange zest and if you have a little juice left over you could add it as well. You can spread the icing smoothly onto the cooled cakes but if you’d like you can use a piping bag as I did. It helps to make them look a little better.

The cakes came really well in the end and I think the Chocolate, Orange, Lime combination worked really well.

3 responses to “Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

