Stuffed & Baked Sweet Red Peppers

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As I said in my last post this was the first meal I cooked in the kitchen after its make over. After being out of the kitchen for a while it was really nice to get back into it again and cook! I wanted to reward us for our work but to make it a healthy one to. After looking around the recipe sites I decided to go for a delicious and healthy recipe, Baked & Stuffed Sweet Red peppers. I found a basic recipe which I liked and then make some tweeks to it. I think this is a big part of what cooking is about. Finding something which works and then experimenting with it, finding new ways to make it more exciting or flavourful in some way.

I took out a couple of the original ingredients like Capers (Hana doesn’t like them) and Spinach (the supermarket was out) and added in Goats Cheese, Baby Tomatoes and Garlic. It helps to have made the Breadcrumbs before starting. All in all it worked really well and I am looking forward to all the other dishes I will be cooking up this year.

Stuffed & Baked Sweet Red Peppers

Ingredients for two hungry people.

4 large Romano Peppers
2tbsp Olive Oil
1 slice of Brown Bread blitzed into crumbs**
2 tbsp Parmesan
1 large Red Chilli
2tsp Dried Parsley
100g Goats Cheese
12-14 Cherry Tomatoes
4 Cloves of Garlic.

** I used some bread crumbs I made a couple of months ago and stored in the freezer. Click here for the recipe**

Preheat your oven to 190C/fan 170C/gas 5. Wash the Sweet Red Peppers and Tomatoes and slice the Peppers in half. Toss the Peppers and Tomatoes in the Olive Oil and place on a baking tray. Thinly slice the Garlic and divide it between the Peppers laying it in them. Spread the Tomatoes around them. Roast in the center of the over for around 20 minutes.

While the Peppers are Roasting make the filling. For fast Breadcrumbs toast the Bread and Blitz it in a Food Processor. Whilst that’s whizzing chop the Chillis and grate the Parmesan. Add the Pine Nuts, Chilli, Parmesan and most of the Goats Cheese (reserving some to serve on top of each pepper) into the Food Processor and blend it all together.

After 20 minutes take the Peppers out of the oven. Spooning the mixture, divide it between the Pepper halves. Return to the oven for around 15 – 20 minutes (checking after 15). When the peppers are golden and the Crumbs crisp its done.

Serve with Green veg and a simple side salad.

P.s I am loving the camera on my new phone, better pics.

 

 

2 responses to “Stuffed & Baked Sweet Red Peppers

  1. Looks and sounds delicious! I don’t care for capers either. And though I’m sure it would be nice with the goat cheese, it doesn’t appear that you lost much by eliminating the spinach. I’ll have to try this soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

