Flat Iron Steak

About two weeks ago I wrote a post on a Super Veg Pasta recipe Hana made for us. At the time I mentioned that I cooked a really tasty Steak which I figured I deserved after the decorating the week before. I was trying out a new Steak cut the Flat Iron Steak.

Raw flat iron steak

Image via Wikipedia

Towards the end of last year Morrisons, the local Supermarket, had introduced new cuts of Meat on there fresh Meat counter. I was looking over the huge slabs of different cuts of Beef which all looked  very tempting and yummy! As a former Butcher I was drawn to these new cuts which I had not heard of before. New names like ‘Flat Iron’ and ‘Denver Steak’ jumped out at me along with others less well know cuts like ‘Skirt’

I looked over the slabs of Beef seeing new cuts and tried to decide which one I would like to try first. In the end I asked the very helpful assistant who suggested the Flat Iron Steak. He had tried one recently and highly recommended it if I liked my Steak’s with a stronger deeper flavour, which I very much do! So I asked for one to be cut and took it home.

Not knowing anything about Flat Iron Steak I typed it into Google to see what came up. I found that Flat Iron Steak is actually a new cut of Beef which has been developed by teams from two universities in America. One from Florida and one from Nebraska. They began with a cut from the top shoulder blade of the cow, a previously unused cut which was wasted.  By removing the tough connective tissue running through the middle of the shoulder a new tender and deeply flavourful cut had been created. The shoulder is a muscle which gets a lot of work during the Cow’s life and so it develops a marbling of fat through the Steak and one of the biggest contributers to flavour in a Steak is the fat running through it . This marbling also means it is a tender cut as well something akin to a Sirloin. In a way it’s similar to a Rib cut but without the bigger price tag.

As It’s a big Steak packing a big flavour I treated it as I would have either a Rib Eye or Rump made up a simple marinade. It’s one which I use for most of my Steaks and has come from many years of cooking and eating Steaks. How you like your Steak cooked is a personal choice and I do like to keep it very Rare. That said this cut benefits from cooking it slowly over a medium heat. This melts that gorgeous marbling of fat and releases the flavour. When I cooked it I fried it but I think I would work best grilling to allow the fat to drain away and cook more evenly.

So this is my Quick and easy Steak Marinade,

Ingredients,

Pinch of  Salt

1/2 tsp  Black Pepper

1tsp Dried Corriander

1tbsp Olive Oil

1-2tsp Soy Sauce

8-10oz Flat Iron Steak

1-2 Cloves of Garlic

Recipe,

Begin by scoring the Steak in a crisscross pattern on both sides. This allows the marinade really get into the Steak. Next mix the Olive Oil, Soy Sauce, Pepper and Corriander. Peal and crush the Garlic with the back of a knife to bruise it and release the flavour and add it to the marinade.

Pour the marinade over the Steak and cover with clingfilm. Leave in the fridge for around 30 minutes.

Cook according to you liking. I fried mine and cooked it Rare but I think it would be best served Medium Rare having been Grilled.

Hope you enjoy!

Related articles

4 responses to “Flat Iron Steak

  1. Pingback: Homepage·

  2. Pingback: accident waiting to happen lyrics·

Leave a Reply

