French onion soup

I don’t watch much TV when its actually on TV thanks to things like the Iplayer and Netflix I tend to catch up on things later when I have time to sit down and watch them properly. If its a cookery show then that means having a note-pad ready to take down any recipe ideas or tips that come along. Last night I was looking through the BBC Iplayer and found a new cookery series which has been on for a couple of weeks, Raymond Blanc – The Hungry Frenchman.

I jumped straight in with episode three in Lyon. I loved this show and highly recommend catching up on it online if you like French Food. My big inspiration in starting this blog was our holiday in France last summer so seeing the beautiful french countryside and wonderful cuisine of Lyon was a real treat. I had my note-pad to my right and a glass of red wine to my left and felt very indulgent watching all the wonderful food. I have noted down some of the recipes which I will try be trying out soon.

I think what I enjoyed most about this show was also what I enjoyed so much about visiting France, the markets and glorious fresh produce. As much as I love going to the supermarket and having everything under one roof I still go to the local greengrocers to get all our fruit and veg. I think by losing the town market in many places we have lost a connection to fresh food in its natural state and the people who grow our vegetables or make our Cheese or bread.

This is a traditional French recipe which I made last week when both Hana and I were feeling a little under the weather with a cold. Its the kind of thing which you want when you have a cold, its simple to make and warms you up. Plus so can curl up on the sofa with a big bowl of it.

So here is my recipe for French onion soup.

20120219-125319.jpg

Serves two
Cooking time 45 minutes

4 Large Onions
1tsp Thyme
25g Butter
2tsp Flour
500ml Lamb Stock
100g Gruyere
4 Slices of Bread

Recipe

Roughly chop the Onions. Melt the butter in a large saucepan and cook the onions with the thyme for 15 minutes until very soft. Add the flour and stir to coat all the onion in flour, this will thicken the soup.

Gradually add 500ml of lamb stock stiring continuously to prevent the flour from clumping. Simmer for 25 minutes

Lightly toast 4 slices of bread on a baking tray in the oven. Once golden take them out and butter two slices. Put one of the buttered slices in the bottom of each of two soup bowls. Grate the Gruyere and divide it between the other two slices of bread reserving about a third of it. When the soup is almost ready grill the Gruyere topped bread till melted.

20120219-130738.jpg

Ladle the soup into the two bowls and topp with the cheese bread. Sprinkly the rest of the gruyere over the top and enjoy!

20120219-131009.jpg

Leave a Reply

