Tarragon Chicken

Though these days I may be relatively lean at 172lbs I haven’t always been in teriffic shape. Back in 2008 I was a rather giant 234lbs, yikes! I seriously needed to lose some weight and to get in shape. I had always liked going to the gym and lifting weight but I had long stopped looking at my size and shape and just looked at the size of the weight I was lifting. Cardio was non existent and I was not in a healthy way. So I took a good look and decided that I needed to make a change. People often think that there is a quick and easy way to lose weight and get in shape, that there is a miracle which will transform them but the simple and unavoidable truth is this. That its just dedication and gold old fashioned hard work which will make the difference. It took me along time to understand that myself.

I have been hitting the gym hard since January and have been trying to eat well. Some of the recipes which I post are not the best meals if your watching your waistline but I always think if you have a good overall diet, good food in moderation and make sure you exercise well then it isn’t going to be too bad for you indulging now and then.

This is a recipe for a typical packed lunch I might take to work, or pop in a bag if out for the day. If I am out for a whole day then I will pack two or more portions of this. Often I will have something like this at home on days off as well.

Ingredients

1 chicken breast
2tsp taragon
1-2tsp olive oil.

For the salad

3-4 handfuls of mixed salad leafs
1/4 cucumber diced
3 anchovie fillets (I wash these to rinse as much of the salt from them as I can)

Recipe

Pop the chicken in a roasting tin and pour over the olive oil. Sprinkle with the taragon and roast for 35 minutes in the center of a pre heated oven at around 180c.

When the chicken is cooked through pat dry with kitchen paper to remove most of the oil. Slice it up. In a packed lunch box spread out the salad leafs and cucumber. Lay the sliced chicken over the top and finish with the anchovy fillets.

This may not be the most imaginative packed lunch but it does the job of filling you up. I will usually follow this with a banana for carbs. On days when I think I will need a little more energy I add some home made croutons.

20120229-220238.jpg

2 responses to “Tarragon Chicken

Leave a Reply

