Baking at home

I haven’t been blogging as much recently as I have been busy with a new project. I spent a lot of time in the kitchen over the end of last week working on a baking project. Thursday and Friday were very intense to say the least. I can’t say what the project is yet but keep on watching this space and I will let you know very soon! I am quite excited and energised about it and I can’t wait to share it with you all, but until then I will just have to keep you in suspense!

If you have been following me for awhile or have read any of my posts before then you will know I am passionate about food and how much I love being in the kitchen cooking. I started my journey into the world of food when I was quite young. I followed my Grandmother around the kitchen watching as she made all our meals from scratch. This is defiantly where I got my appreciation for home cooked and hand made food. Growing up I hardly had an ‘Ready Meals’ and we didn’t even have a microwave, everything was made by hand and that is something I have tried to continue through my adult life. There are always days when I feel like I don’t have the energy to cook but I feel better when I do! I have so many memories of baking things from sponges cakes to gingerbread men and my all time favorite, the Bacon and Onion Roly-Poly (Think of it as a suet based savoury swiss roll. This sounds strange but trust me its awesome). I was lucky enough as a child that I knew my Great-grandfather, I loved to listen to him tell stories whilst cooking what I still think is the best shepherds pie I have ever tasted. I would help him  mash the potatoes he had grown and dug up in his garden, he did this well into his 90’s. I started out ‘cooking’ myself by making little salads for my grandparents, I’m sure they thought it was odd that their chubby grandson liked to make little salads with home-made dressing for supper or midnight snacks but this was where I first learned how to put ingredients together.

Baking with my Grandmother and cooking with my Great-Grandfather were both a very important part of my childhood and they shaped how I have thought about food and cooking from an early age. Cooking from scratch and not taking shortcuts. I am not being intentionally critical of ready meals and microwaves, they do have a place in the modern kitchen but part of me feels sad that our word had become so fast and full that there isn’t always time to take the simple pleasure of preparing a meal, knowing every ingredient that has gone into it.

As I said at the beginning I have been busy in the kitchen this last week baking some really lovely treats. One of the things I baked were Banana and Walnut Muffins.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I was really happy with how these banana and walnut muffins turned out. I was really happy to find proper paper cases to look just like muffins you might get in a cafe or coffee shop.

You may also like

Red Velvet Cake. A scrummy yummy cake

Greek Honey Cup Puddings Delicious light little puddings.

 

2 responses to “Baking at home

Leave a Reply

