Easter Sardinian Lamb Pasta

I hope you all had a really good Easter. I have really enjoyed the holidays this year and had a really good long weekend with Hana. There has been lots to do with this being both Easter and the last weekend before we go on holiday to Greece next Saturday. Thankfully we have had time to just hang out together as well which has been pretty cool.

We had a couple of shopping trips to get everything we needed for the holiday which was fun, we are both getting really excited. I have a couple of new outfits for the holiday. I was also quite cheeky and whilst Hana was shopping I popped off for a bit and got a very meaty Steak and Chips at a restaurant called ‘the meat and wine company’. Pretty much right up my street. I did also do a bit of shopping and was pleased with the cool floral print shorts I got for the holiday. I think Hana might have wanted me to get some which were a little less loud, but I think shorts are made to be bright and floral. Monday has been kinda chilled out with a good session at the gym to burn off some of the chocolate I have (and will have) had.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As it was Easter we both went home to visit our families on Easter Sunday, we usually do this on each of the holidays so sometime over a holiday period we have a cook a meal at home and celebrate together either early or late. This year we had our Easter on Saturday evening. I cooked for us this year and was quite pleased with the dish Hana chose for us to have. We also exchanged Easter Eggs. I have to share the pictures of my egg as it was awesome! A beautiful Hotel Chocolate egg. Yum.

As I was visiting my Gran on Sunday and seeing my brother Sunday night to hang-out I wanted to make a meal which I could cook for in one big batch and would do for Me and Hana Saturday, Me and my grandmother and leave enough for my brother to have some as well. This meant it would have to be a pretty big batch of whatever I was going to cook and that it would have to be relatively uncomplicated to make but also be something which would taste good when reheated in batches. The dish Hana picked was from a supermarket magazine but was really tasty. I think like any dish with a Tomato sauce it works even better when reheated the next day.

Sardinian Pasta with Lamb Sauce

Prep time 15 minutes
Cooking time 2 1/2 – 3 hours

Ingredients for 4 – 6 portions (depending on how hungry you are)

400 – 500g dried conchiglie
5tbsp olive oil
2 large onions
4 cloves of garlic
1 half leg of lamb (approx 800g – 1kg, I used two small legs).
100ml white wine
4 x 400g tins of chopped tomatoes
3tsp of herbs de provence

Recipe

The sauce.

Finely chop the onion and garlic. Heat the olive oil in a large deep pan, add the onion and garlic. Cook gently for 10 – 15 minutes till soft. Turn up the heat add the leg of lamb and brown the meat on all sides.

Now pour in the wine and steam for a couple of minutes to boil off the alcohol. Add the tinned tomatoes, stir it together. Turn the heat down to a medium heat and stew it slowly for 2 1/2hrs to reduce the sauce down. If you need to add more water during this time then do so.

Take the leg(s) of lamb out and shred the meat off the bone. Shred the meat into small pieces and ad back into the sauce. Stir it through to be smooth. Season with a little salt and pepper.

Cook the pasta according to its instructions and how you prefer it. Drain the pasta and add it to the sauce.

Serve and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

