Russell’sKitchen – Second Cake sale

Great British Cakes

Great British Cakes

Last Saturday RussellsKitchen was in business again. This was my second time selling cakes from a stall. Back in March I tried it at one of the local pubs in Acton which was having a ‘Pop-up’ sale or ‘Rail sale’. Last time around it was an unseasonally  warm March day and as the pub we were in didn’t have a garden or outside area there were few people. Most were outside enjoying the sunshine in the park. It was not a good first sale as I only sold a few pieces of cake and lost money on the whole thing. It was just unlucky really that it was such a hot day and also that it was the first time the pub had had such an event. The upside was that I did sell to most of the few people who came in and I got my name out into the world with flyers in the pub.

Strawberry and cream Victoria Sponge

Strawberry and cream Victoria Sponge

Saturdays Pop-up sale was very different. It was organised by the owner of a local craft shop and it is an established craft fair with people coming from different parts of London to sell arts and crafts. It also had the virtue of being an established sale which happens a few times a year. As I said in my last post last week and the weekend were lovely and hot and I did think, “will this put people off?” The Rocket (the pub where the sale was) has an outside area on the street and Laura, who was running the sale, put a few stalls there to grab passers by.

Strawberry Cupcakes

Strawberry Cupcakes

Inside there were lots of different stalls selling all manor of things from home made children’s clothes to paintings and even home made bath stuff. An eclectic mix. The other stall holders were a nice bunch, though I didn’t get to chat to to many of them during the day as we were all with our stalls. After spending Friday afternoon and evening baking cakes then getting up early on Saturday to decorate them, the anticipation and excitement were really building. I set up my little stall and arranged the cakes cutting up a few as samples and waited. A big thank you to Hana for getting up early on Saturday to decorate the very pretty cupcakes and to help me with the stall. 

Hana's Strawberry Cupcakes

Hana’s Strawberry Cupcakes

I did have competition here from another stall and for better or worse it was almost right opposite mine and in a slightly better place. But I still did a lot better than before. People liked what they saw and I had loads of really good positive feedback from people passing-by complimenting how pretty the cakes looked. I also had very positive feedback from everyone who bought or tried some cake. One of the cakes sold out because of recommendations, Good old word of mouth!

Victoria Sponge, almost gone.

Victoria Sponge, almost gone.

I am really happy to say that I didn’t just break even at this cake sale but that I actually made a profit! I am really happy about how the day turned out. I did go home with stock left over but still I made an overall profit. It may not have been a huge amount but it is really encouraging to know that people like what I make and that they are willing to pay a good price for it. Saturday was a very encouraging day and I enjoyed it from start to finish. Now I am on the look-out for the place I can have a stall!

So watch this place and I will let you know when the next sale is!

Me with the cake stall

Me with the cake stall

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One response to “Russell’sKitchen – Second Cake sale

  1. Pingback: Herman the living cake? day two | russellskitchen·

Leave a Reply

