Herman the living cake? day one

I got a really cool present today from a friend. A German friendship cake called Herman. This is first I have heard of such a thing! Looking in the little tub it came in I could see that Herman is currently a strange thick bubbly liquid, which I guess is caused by the yeast? When i got home I had a quick google looking for it and found this website. My friend had already separated it into portions so I got him in a little tub.

Herman is Born!

Herman came with a set if instructions for what to do for the next 10 days till it is ready to bake and I will be keeping you updated as to his progress and what the end result looks (and tastes) like. When I got him home I transfered the b bubbly liquid into a mixing bowl and covered with a tea towel.

Herman the German friendship cake

Herman the German friendship cake

Herman the German friendship cake ~ day 1

you get Herman and put him in a large mixing bowl and cover loosely with a clean Tea Towel.

Also coming soon more Smoothie recipes. 

You might also like,

Hana’s Summertime smoothie

4 responses to “Herman the living cake? day one

  1. Pingback: Herman the living cake? day two | russellskitchen·

  2. Pingback: Strawberry Sunset Smoothie | russellskitchen·

    • I had not heard of it either until my friend gave it to me (or should I say him to me?) I think she got it in Latvia, but I am not sure. Its interesting to watch a cake grow!

      Like

Leave a Reply

