Greek Lamb with Orzo

Saturday was my 30th Birthday, ouch! I had a party for about eight friends plus me and Hana. I wanted to make a couple of big one-pot dishes which would be easy to cook but still have a bit of a wow factor and taste really good. Since we went to Greece back in April I have become a bit of a Grecophile falling in love with all things Greek from their long and very colourful history to the beautiful landscape of the countryside out of Athens and the openness of the Islands. When I was choosing what dishes to make for my birthday I had this sitting in the back of my mind and I really wanted to share some of my passion for Greece and its food.

I had a look for Greek or Greek style recipes which I thought would work (quick and easy to make and with bags of flavour). My last post was about the vegetarian option, this is about the meaty one. Before going to Greece I had thought that Greek recipes leaned heavily on Lamb as that was my experience of having it in England, when in Greece I had more pork and sea-food though. Though this might not be a strictly traditional dish (perhaps it would be made with pork?) it is one which people could point to and say it was Greek .

I didn’t take any photos on Saturday as I was in a bit of a rush with cooking and getting ready for the party but I am sure I will cook this again (as I didn’t get to have too much of it Saturday)and will post some photos then.

Greek Lamb with Orzo, Serves 6 as a main

Prep time 15 mins

Cooking time 2hrs 30 mins

Ingredients 

  • 1kg boned shoulder of lamb
  • 2 onions , sliced
  • 1tsp dried oregano
  • ½tsp ground cinnamon
  • 2tsp cinnamon
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 400g can of tomatoes
  • vegetable stock cube
  • 400g orzo

Recipe

Preheat your oven to 180c. Begin by dicing up your lamb shoulder (My cooks knife really needs to be sharpened for stuff like this) into 4cm chunks. Roughly dice the onion, it doesn’t need to be too fine. Coat the bottom of a large casserole dish (one with a lid for later) and chuck in the lamb chunks and the chopped onion. Add the oregano and cinnamon and stir coating the meat in the oil and spices. Bake uncovered for 45mins, turning the meat half way through.

After 45 minutes make up 1.2ltrs of vegetable stock. Take the lamb out of the oven and pour over the tin of tomatoes and the veggi stock. Cover with a lid and continue to bake in the oven for 1hr 30mins.

It will be quite watery when you check it at this point but the Orzo will soak it all up. Add in the orzo, stir, cover and return to the oven for 20 minutes. After 10 take it out and give it a stir to stop the orzo sticking. After 20 mins the orzo will have absorbed most of the liquid and you will be left with a small amount of thickened sauce.

As it has pasta (orzo) in I think you can serve it by itself with vegetables or a crisp salad.

Next time I will be sharing the Ultimate Chocolate cake I had as my birthday cake.

Ultimate Chocolate Cake

Ultimate Chocolate Cake

2 responses to “Greek Lamb with Orzo

  1. Pingback: 30th Birthday Dinner and Cake | russellskitchen·

  2. Pingback: Greek with Lamb with Orzo | russellskitchen » Greek Recipes·

Leave a Reply

