Malteser cupcakes for Father’s Day

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Hello, my name’s Hana and I’m writing the guest post on Russell’s Kitchen today. I sometimes get mentioned in the posts, or the back of my head gets in a photograph.

Like Russell I also:

  • Am very greedy
  • Love to cook nice dinners and bake yummy treats
  • Wish we had a bigger kitchen – but love the time we spend and the things we create in our little MDF box

A little while ago I saw this recipe for Malteser Cupcakes and thought they looked lovely. I wanted to make them for Russell’s birthday last week but he thought Herman the German and the chocolate cake were enough (well, there were only 9 of us). Anyway father’s day came along and I thought it was a good time to try this recipe out. My Dad is quite difficult to buy presents for anyways but likes cake.

I was very pleased with the results and they were quite easy to make. Basically your standard fairy cakes / cupcakes with a nice malteser crunch. Perfect for chocolate lovers like me.

For the cakes you need:

  • 200 g unsalted butter, softened
  • The recipe says: 150 g caster sugar and 50 g brown sugar but I was lazy and used 200g of golden caster sugar and it turned out quite nice
  • 2 drops vanilla essence
  • 3 medium eggs. (The recipe said 4 medium eggs, but I looked at the comments below and a lot of people said 3 was better. I went with 3 and I think 4 would have been too much.)
  • 200 g plain flour
  • 10 g baking powder – I used 1 and 3/4 tsp because my scales weren’t accurate enough.
  • a little pinch of salt
  • 80 g crushed maltesers (the recipe didn’t specify crushed or whole, I crushed mine a bit too much, I’d recommend maybe chopping them in half)

For the icing you need:

  • 500g icing sugar
  • 250g butter (I recommend melting it first)
  • 2 drops vanilla essence

Now lets get started.

First the prep.

Line a muffin tray with 12 muffin ( also known as cupcake) cases. A muffin tray works best because it helps the cakes keep their lovely shape. Pre heat the oven to 180 c (160 c if you have a fan or gas oven).

Measure out all your dry ingredients and sift the flour into a bowl using a sieve so its light and fluffy. Add the salt and baking powder. Put it to the side. I find this means its less fiddly later because you can just tip the whole thing in.

Measure out 80g maltesers. I put them back in the bag and gave them a good thwacking with a rolling pin, which was good fun (unless you’re leaving them whole). Put these to the side as well.

Now get started.

Using an electric hand whisk or freestanding mixer beat your butter and sugar together till its nice and creamy. Add the vanilla extract then beat in. Then add your eggs one at a time. Beat each egg into the mixture before adding the next. Then gradually add the dry ingredients and beat them in (you may want to give it a stir to combine before you beat so your flour doesn’t go flying). Scrape down the edges of a bowl with a spatula to make sure it all mixes in. When its all combined I continue beating to try and get as much air into the cake as possible, usually for another 5 minutes or so.

Then tip your maltesers in and stir. (Once of my guilty pleasures is eating raw cake mix and  the crushed maltesers running through it was very exciting. Luckily there very some scrapes left over for me at the end.) Spoon it in equal measures into the cake cases. About 3/4 full if possible so they rise just above the rim of the cake case. Bake on the middle shelf of the oven for 25 – 30 minutes (mine took 30). Remove from the oven when the central cake springs up when you push it back down, and a knife comes out clean. Let them cool in the tin for about 10 minutes, then put them on the wire rack. When your cakes are cool its time for my favourite bit, the icing!

Icing time – the best bit!

Sift the icing sugar into a big mixing bowl using a sieve to remove the lumps.

I recommend melting the butter because its a lot easier to combine with the sugar that way. To do this I boiled a small pan of water, then when its boiling put the icing in a glass mixing bowl and let it melt. You only need a bit of boiling water as it bubbles up a lot.

Add the melted butter and vanilla essence to the icing sugar. Stir it first so your icing sugar doesn’t go flying then use an electric whisk to beat it all together.

The icing is very rich so you can dollop a small blob onto each cake if you like. I decided to go the whole hog and using a piping bag. The original picture was delicate swirl but mine came out as a large Mr Whippy ice cream peak. In the picture they have crushed maltesers, which looked beautiful, but because mine looked like 12 cartoon cupcakes or ice cream sundaes so I decided on a whole malteser on each cupcake to look like a cherry on top.

And the verdict …

I was certainly pleased with the way my malteser cupcakes looked and took loads of pictures. I was a bit worried they might get messed up on the journey back home but they proved to be quite sturdy. I’d recommend if you have to take your cakes somewhere not going right to the edge when you ice them, so they’re still OK if they knock together. They certainly got us a lot of attention on the way over. A little boy pointed at them on the bus and grinned, I should have given him one but I could only fit 9 in the box and wanted my family to all have one each plus extras.  Also when Russell asked the cashier lady at the train station about the train times she said, “Can’t talk looking at those.” So looks wise they were definitely popular.

Luckily they went down a treat with my family as well. My parents liked them and my Grandma who doesn’t eat anything and hates chocolate had a whole one as well. My brother made a few smart comments but he usually does. I’d definitely make these again, especially if I was going to see a friend or had someone coming round. They reminded me a bit of chocolate bar milkshakes. On the original comments someone said they’d made them with Aero bars which had worked nicely, which made me think you could probably do the same recipe with all sorts of chocolate bars. Although they’re not my favourite Crunchie bars might work too because they’re lovely and light, or Rolos. Definitely the perfect cake for a greedy chocolate lover like me.

Hana’s Summertime Smoothie

Hana’s Gingerbread

4 responses to “Malteser cupcakes for Father’s Day

  1. Pingback: Easy Vegetable and Bean Casserole | russellskitchen·

  2. Pingback: Rose swirl Cupcakes | russellskitchen·

  3. Pingback: russellskitchen·

  4. Pingback: Fathers day recipes: treats for your dad | russellskitchen·

Leave a Reply

