Chilli beef stir fry. The veggie way.

Chilli beef, the veggie way. Just add noodles

Chilli beef, the veggie way. Just add noodles

I have been quite busy this week with both work and with the planning for the next big event from RussellsKitchen. I am going to be building on the cake stalls I have run at pop up sales with another string to the RussellsKitchen bow, its quite a way from begin ready yet but I am very excited about it and will be sharing it with you soon.

I’m taking a little break from baking up cupcake treats this week and posting a nice healthy recipe. Everyone likes to have a take away now and then. I don’t think its too bad for you really, as long as it isn’t every week the take away is a nice treat. In our flat when its take away time it means one of two things, Chinese or Pizza. It can often be a tug of war between the two.

When Chinese wins the take away tug of war, both Hana and I are creatures of habit. Each time we order the exact same dishes  Monday night I felt like having some good Chinese food but as I am trying to save the pennies at the moment I thought I would try and make my favourite Chinese take away dish at home. I would usually order Crispy chilli beef but as I don’t have a deep fryer I thought I would just opt for the non fried kind. As Hana doesn’t eat beef I swapped it for Quorn.

Though I made some changes to the basic recipe I still really enjoyed it and it was just as satisfying and comforting as getting it from the local take away.

Chlli beef stir fry, the veggie way.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Ingredients

  • 1 onion chopped very finely.
  • 200g of sliced beef steak or for the veggie way Quorn chicken pieces.
  • 1 desert spoon of corn flour.
  • 1-2 tbsp walnut oil.
  • 1-2 tbsp sesame oil.
  • 2 cloves of garlic, finely sliced.
  • 2 -3 red chilli’s (depending on how hot you like it!)
  • 3 large sweet red peppers, diced.
  • 1/2 a green pepper.
  • Thumb size piece of ginger, grated.
  • 3tsp sesame seeds.
  • 4 desert spoons of soy sauce.
  • 60-100ml vegetable stock.
  • 1tsp black pepper.
  • 2 nests of fine egg noodles.

Recipe.

If using beef slice it very thinly and toss it in the corn flour.

In a wok heat the 1tbsp of each of the oils (walnut and sesame) until smoking. Add the sliced garlic, chilli and grated ginger. Stir fry for 1 minute before adding the onion. Keep stirring so it doesn’t stick to the pan!

Add the beef dusted in corn flour or the Quorn chicken pieces and dust it all in a spoon of corn flour, stirring to coat.

Keep everything moving as you add the diced peppers and black pepper. Stir fry vigorously for 5 minutes.

Make up the stock and pour it in, using it to deglaze  the pan and loosen anything which has gotten stuck on. Pop the noodles on to boil. The liquid should thicken and reduce down very quickly (2 mins). Finally add the Soy sauce.

Chilli beef, the veggie way. Just add noodles

Chilli beef, the veggie way. Just add noodles

Heat till bubbling and serve with the noodles.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

