Chicken with Pesto and Crème fraîse,

Summer in Winter Chicken

Sometimes a recipe doesn’t quite work out as you plan and sometimes this can be a good thing. Sometimes you find what looks a nice recipe, change an ingredient and it doesn’t go so well. This recipe for Chicken with Pesto and Crème fraîse is one such tail.

Hana found this recipe on BBC Good Food’s website whilst looking for dinner inspiration. She bookmarked it along with a bunch of others and emailed them to me. I made her sound like a bit of an ogre there, she didn’t send them as a demand “cook me food boy!” but as suggestions so we had a few dishes to choose from when cooking that week.

I looked through the recipes Hana sent over and this one looked like something I would like to try out so put my hand up and said I would do it on my next turn to cook. The picture for the recipe looks really nice. I was also being a bit cheeky in choosing this one. It only has a few ingredients and as its ready in 25 minutes is pretty quick and easy too.

The website said the recipe is low in fat, and it is, but I looked at the crème fraîse and thought I really wanted to change it up and remove it as its the most fatty ingredient. I replaced it with 0% fat Greek yogurt. Should work, right? Wrong. I guess its the fat in the creme which makes the sauce work. If I was making this again I would definitely use the crème fraîse. When I used the Greek yogurt the sauce split and it didn’t really work at all. Well we all have successes and failures in the kitchen and this one was in the latter category.

I think this is a really lovely recipe (when made properly) it looks fresh and summery. Its a simple quick and easy midweek meal which you can make with some left over chicken from a Sunday roast.

Chicken with pesto and crème fraîse

Ingredients for 2 people

1 tbsp olive oil
4 boneless skinless chicken breasts*
200g pack cherry tomatoes
3 tbsp pesto
3 tbsp crème fraîche (half fat is fine)
A handful of fresh basil
1 clove of garlic
2 spring onions
1 red chilli

To serve

Rice for two people
Green veg

* or the left overs from a roast chicken

Recipe

Chop the Garlic, spring onions and chilli. In a frying pan add the olive oil and once hot add the garlic, spring onions and red chilli. Fry gentle for 5 minutes then add the chicken breasts. Brown the chicken on both sides then cook through for 15 minutes.

20120902-224511.jpg

20120902-224546.jpg

Halve the tomatoes and throw them into the pan. Stir them around for a couple of minutes until they start to soften. Add the chicken breasts or pre cooked chicken.

Reduce the heat and stir in the pesto and crème fraîche until it makes a sauce. Remove it quickly from the heat to prevent it splitting. Scatter with a few basil leaves in and stir through.

20120902-224615.jpg

Serve with pasta or rice and a green salad.

Leave a Reply

