Sausages with tomato and olive sauce

Sausages with tomato and olive sauce

Sausages with tomato and olive sauce

Sausages with tomato and olive sauce

A few years back I was not the svelte gentleman you see here today. To put it politely I was a little bit tubby, and to put it honestly I was fat. At about 5 foot 9 I tipped the scales at a hefty 17 stone (a rather chunky 238lbs) and I did not look good. Yes I was hitting the gym and getting exercise, but all I cared about was lifting more weight than I had before till it was almost ridiculous. The upstairs of the gym where the treadmills and cross trainers were was a strange and unknown place, an undiscovered country.

My diet looked about as bad as I did. Basically it was big and fat. I was eating everything in sight. What was generally in sight was a proper home cooked meal made the old fashioned way from scratch. I grew up with my grandparents and they always ate what I would call proper food. They did come from a generation which saw WWII and rationing in England so there idea of good food was always influenced heavily by this. Meals were often quite heavy and stodgy. There isn’t anything wrong with that now and again but not all the time.

Then one day I decided to make a change. I took a hard look at what I was eating (and how much of it). I wanted to make a change which would last a life time. So no quick fixes or fad diets. I started making lots of little changes, like getting of the bus a stop or two earlier, cutting down on portion sizes and eating less cake :(. And gradually the weight came off. I journey to that undiscovered country and learned to use the treadmill, exercise bike and cross trainer.

The little changes started to add up. After 2 1/2 years of hard work I was down to 12 stone (170lbs). I look and feel a lot better and as I built those little changes into my life the weight stayed.

This is a recipe which takes me back to the days of being tubby Russell. Its a good healthy recipe unless you eat the whole pan full to yourself!

    Sausages with tomato and olive sauce

Cooking time 35 minutes | serves 2 | easy to make

Ingredients

Ingredients for Sausages with tomato and olive sauce

Ingredients for Sausages with tomato and olive sauce

6 sausages. I used Bacon and cheese flavoured sausages.
1 tin of tomatoes
300g baby tomatoes
1 onion
3 cloves of garlic
1tsp herbs de provence
2 bay leafs
100ml low salt vegetable stock
3tsp balsamic vinegar (adjust to taste)
Handful of pitted green olives
1tbsp olive oil

To serve

Pasta for two and a handful of fresh basil to scatter over.

Recipe

I used bacon and cheese flavoured sausages for this recipe but you could experiment with different flavours, thats the beauty of a recipe like this.
You could make the recipe with vegetarian sausages and vegetable stock for a tasty meat free alternative.

Pre heat the oven to 180c. Whilst the oven is warming up finely chop the garlic and onion. Roast the sausages on a baking tray for 30 minutes, turning after 15 minutes. You don’t need any oil as they have enough fat in them already.

 

Fried onions

Fried onions

Heat the oil in a pan and add the onions and cook 4-5 mins more. Add the chopped garlic to the pan and fry for 2 minutes. Add the whole baby tomatoes and cook for 5 minutes stirring occasionally.

Tip in the tinned tomatoes along with the balsamic vinegar, olives and stock. Bring to the boil then reduce the heat and simmer, stirring frequently, for 15 mins until pulpy. Put on a pan of water to boil for the pasta and cook according to the pack instructions. Use the back of a wooden spoon to break up the baby tomatoes a little.

Grilled Sausages

Grilled Sausages

Sausages with tomato and olive sauce

Sausages with tomato and olive sauce

When the sausages are cooked through pop them in the pan and stir to coat in the sauce. Continue to gently cook for 5 more minutes.

Sausages with tomato and olive sauce

Sausages with tomato and olive sauce, one pan stew

Serve with the drained pasta and a scattering of fresh basil.

One response to “Sausages with tomato and olive sauce

Leave a Reply

