10k Challenge – done!

Well I managed to do my first 10k charity run this morning. To all the people who sponsored me and Hana I say a really big thank you for your support.

British heart foundation 10k run - hyde park

British heart foundation 10k run – hyde park

A big thank you to the organisers of the event too. It felt so good to complete the run today. I don’t think I set the world on fire with my time of just over an hour (1hr 2 minutes) but it was inside  my target time of 1hr 10 minutes for this run.

We arrived bleary eyed to Hyde Park this morning ready and maybe a little bit nervous about what was to come but as we got registered and changed into our race t-shirts the nervousness started to melt away, or maybe it was washed away by the rain which decided to get us soaked before setting off.

British heart foundation 10k fun run

British heart foundation 10k fun run

After a mass warm up it was time to assemble behind the starting line and set off. I hit play on my mp3 player on my phone, crossed the start line and ran off. I won’t say it was the easiest thing I have ever done but on the day it was easier than I thought. For me the race day was easier than my practice runs on the treadmill at the gym. You find that running with a whole bunch of other people really motivates you and pushes you on.

Hyde Park London

Hyde Park London

So after an hour of running through beautiful Hyde Park in London I crossed the line and collected my medal. My legs felt far better than I thought they would be. And for lunch after, the lunch of Olympic champions, McDonalds!

One response to “10k Challenge – done!

  1. Pingback: Devils food cake, part one | russellskitchen·

Leave a Reply

