British Egg Week – Eggs Florentine.

Its National Egg Week this week so in celebration of all things eggrelated I thought I would share this Eggs Florentine Recipe.

Eggs are one of those forgotten ingredients, they tend to sit in the fridge and be pulled out for a quick Omlet, scrambled eggs or more often than not in our flat they end up in a cake batter.

When I was little my Gran would give me eggs nearly everyday, a soft boiled egg oozing with runny yolk and soldiers for breakfast or hardboiled as a snack. All to help me grow big and strong. She came from a generation which thought they were really good for you. By the time I was growing up eggs had fallen out of fashion a bit. They were thought to be full of cholesterol and something to be had a couple of times a week at most. My gran has never paid things like that much attention, she still ate them often as during the war they were one of the foods which were rationed. Well now the thinking has swung back around and eggs are good for us again.

I have to share one thing I do with eggs which always freeks Hana out, the home made protein shake. I have said before I love lifting weights and anyone who does always needs to make sure they get enough protein. Well those tubs of protein powder can often be expensive. So to save cash I make my own the old fashioned with raw egg whites and milk. I’m not going to pretend it tastes nice (far from it) but you do get used to it. You get a good protein hit and depending on which milk you use it’s low fat too.

You can find my recipe for a home made protein shake here.

This recipe is far, far nicer than an icky protein shake. I cant claim this Eggs Florentine Recipeas my own creation, I am using a very traditional recipe as it’s a dish I have not made before. You can find the original recipe at, British Egg Week

It’s a perfect dish for a light lunch or supper with some bread to dip in the eggy goodness. We beefed it up for an evening meal by serving it with some pasta with out of the jar pesto.

Eggs Florentine

Prep time 5 minutes | Cooking time 20 minutes | serves 2

Ingredients

British Egg Week - Eggs Florentine

British Egg Week – Eggs Florentine

1 tbsp White Wine Vinegar
4 Eggs
225g Baby Spinach leafs
1 Leek
4 slices Pancetta
4 tbsp Fromage Frais
Sprinkle of Nutmeg

Recipe

Chop the leek. Bring 2 pans of water to the boil. To one add the white wine vinegar. Reduce to a simmer and break in the eggs. I cheat with poached eggs as I have a little silicone dish for them to sit in. If you don’t have one then stir the water vigorously so that when you drop an egg in the middle the white wraps around the yolk. Simmer the eggs for 3-5 minutes. Then remove from the heat.

Meanwhile, rinse the spinach and pop into the second pan. Add the leek and mix together well. Cover and place over a medium heat for 4–5 minutes until the spinach is wilted.

Meanwhile, drain the spinach and leek and return to the saucepan. Stir in the fromage frais and nutmeg.

Divide the spinach between two plates, drain the eggs using a slotted spoon and place one or two on top of each pile then top with the Pancetta.

Serve with some crusty bread and a glass of crisp white wine for a quick and simple lunch.

Leave a Reply

