Nigella’s Italian Roast Chicken with Peppers and Olives

Italian Roast Chicken with Peppers and Olives, Green Beans with Pistachio Pesto followed by Meringue Gelato with Chocolate Sauce.

Italian Roast Chicken dinner.

Wow, I didn’t realise that it had been over a month since my last post and a bit longer than that since my last recipe. Its been a very busy time. Along with working at my part-time job I was also doing my internship, doing bits and pieces for my Gran and building up my freelance work. Whilst it often hasn’t been easy to fit it all in and sometimes over the past couple of weeks I haven’t always been able to do everything, it has been rewarding. I have really enjoyed both my time at my internship and I feel I have learned an awful lot there.Its been really nice to be in a place where I have been able to grow and challenge myself a bit more than at my old job. I am also really enjoying my freelance work. I am getting to write lots and lots about all sorts of really cool places to travel to. Its nice doing the research on all these gorgeous places, though when your looking at all these gorgeous sunny places or lovely snow capped mountains and then look out the window and see a grey and drizzly London I start to get just a little jealous  I’m not the one going there.

To get back to the blogging and sharing lots of wonderful recipes with you all I am starting with a really nice meal we cooked on Saturday evening. Hana invited our friend Martin over for dinner which is always a nice evening. We decided to cook a delicious meal from our newest cook book, Nigellissima by Nigella Lawson. It’s the cook book from her latest TV series of the same name. Its based on Italian and Italian inspired recipes. All her food looked gorgeous, as it usually does. We both really loved the series, the food just looked so amasing that we have had to try a few of the recipes out.

Four our Saturday night we celebrated with an Italian Roast Chicken with peppers and olives and served it with Green Beans with Pistachio Pesto and Roast Potatoes followed  by Meringue Gelato Cake with Chocolate Sauce.  Suffice to say it was a truly gorgeous, scrumptious and indulgent meal which isn’t actually that bad for you (desert excepted).

Italian Roast Chicken - Roast Peppers with Olives, Yum!

Italian Roast Chicken – Roast Peppers with Olives, Yum!

So without further ado, its time for the main course.

Italian Roast Chicken with Peppers and Olives.

Italian Roast Chicken

Italian Roast Chicken

Ingredients, Serves 4-6 

  • 1 Chicken, around 1.5kg
  • 1 Lemon
  • 4-6 sprigs of Rosemary
  • 3 medium Leeks, washed and trimmed
  • 2 Red Peppers
  • 1 Yellow Pepper
  • 1 Green Pepper
  • 100g Pitted Black Olives
  • 60-100ml Olive Oil
  • Sea Salt and Pepper to taste.

Recipe

Start by preheating your oven to 200c/ gas mark 6. Assemble all the ingredients. Untruss the Chicken and stuff the cavity with the Lemon and Rosemary, set it aside for the moment.

Cut and slice the Leeks lengthways and add to a large roasting tin. Remove the seeds from the Peppers, slice into strips and wash before adding to the tin. Tumble in the Black Olives then pour on most of the Olive Oil (reserving about 40ml for the Chicken). Season with Sea Salt and Pepper to taste then toss it all to coast the veggies in the oil.

Sit the Chicken on top of the vegetables before sprinkling with Salt and Pepper. Drizzle the remaining Olive Oil over the Chicken and rub it in. Pop it in the oven for 1 1/5 (1.5hrs) or according to the weight of your Chicken.

When it is cooked remove from the oven, cover with foil and leave the Chicken to rest for 10 minutes before serving.

Italian Roast Chicken and Green Beans with Pistachio Pesto

Top tip, 

Use the juices from the pan when making your gravy. You can cheat and use some gravy granuals and the juices instead of boiling water.

I will share the rest of the recipes just as soon as I can do another post, which should be very soon. 

Green Beans with Pistachio Pesto

Green Beans with Pistachio Pesto

One response to “Nigella’s Italian Roast Chicken with Peppers and Olives

  1. Pingback: Crispy crackling roast pork with honey & mustard gravy | russellskitchen·

Leave a Reply

