Breakfast smoothies – part 1

Like many just about everyone else I managed to gain a bit of weight over the Christmas and New Year holidays. So January 1st it was back trying to get in shape and lose that bit of festive tummy. Since then I have been trying to eat a bit better and exercise a bit more. Those of you who know me know that I love the exercise side of it, try keeping me out of the gym! The problem for me lies in the first part, staying away from naughty foods. I can’t help but eat that bit of cake and love a muffin or two.

I am often hungriest first thing in the morning. To be honest I am always hungry gut this is probably when it is most acute. So I always

Smoothie og kaffe

want a nice filling breakfast. It has been said time and again that breakfast is the most important meal of the day. It set us up for whats to come and stops us snacking on that naughty chocolate bar later in the day.

As part of trying to eat a bit better I am making sure I get my breakfast and one thing I have been doing through January is making a breakfast shake or smoothie to kick start the day. I think they are a great way to make a quick and nutritious meal and really get me ready for the day. A smoothie can also be a great pre or post  workout drink too. I have tried a couple or different recipes and thought that I would share them both with you.

The first one I tried was a Banana-Oat smoothie, there are lots of different recipes out there and this is my take

Banana-Oat smoothie ~ makes 1 serving

Ingredients

  • 2 bananas
  • 2 desert spoons of oats
  • 150ml milk (your choice of type but I often use unsweetened soy)
  • 1tsp runny honey
  • dash of vanilla essence 

Recipe.

Incredibly simple. I chop the bananas first as I find the blend better when I do. Then add everything into the blender and whiz till smooth.

You can play around with the quantities. The first few times I made it I used a bit too much milk so I cut it down to fit in my big coffee mug. Some mornings if I am feeling a bit sluggish or if I have been to the gym before breakfast then I will add more honey.

If you try it  hope you enjoy it. Next up will be a breakfast shake recipe I found on youtube.

Leave a Reply

