Breakfast smoothies – part 2

Whoops, the WordPress auto post thingy didn’t work as this should have gone up on the 5th. thanks for bearing with me at the moment.

Yesterday I showed you one of the breakfast smoothie recipes I have been trying out through January. I hope you liked it as its

English: Espresso cup with napolitains.

English: Espresso cup with napolitains. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

become a firm favourite with me and I have most mornings at the moment. But after about a month of having the same thing every morning you start to get a little tired of it and feel you are getting into a rut. We you do if you are me, so with that in mind I went back to the internet for inspiration.

This time I went looking on Youtube for healthy recipes, ones for fitness or that are really nutritionally sound. I found a channel with recipes by a British fitness competitor called Rob Riches. Among the various recipes (which all looked really nice) was one for an “Energising breakfast shake”. I tried this out for the first time yesterday and loved it. It tastes great and contains everything you need to get you going in the morning. I felt quite awake after and ready to attack the day. You can watch the Youtube video here

Rob Riches Energizing breakfast shake ~ 1 serving

Ingredients

  • 1 small espresso coffee (I used my Senseo machine to make one)
  • 2 scopes protein powder
  • 1 scoop oats
  • 2tbsp shredded coconut
  • 1 scoop walnuts (or any other nuts you have to hand)
  • 2 squares dark chocolate
  • ice

Recipe.

Make your coffee. You can use any sort you have just make it reasonably strong and use around an espresso cup measure. Break the chocolate into the coffee and stir it as the chocolate melts making a mocha coffee.

Add the oats to a blender along with the walnuts (or any substitute) then blend this till it looks similar to flour, this takes around 30 seconds and makes a better shake.

Now add the shredded coconut and blend again. On top of that add the protein powder then the ice cubes, maybe 3-4 or a similar amount of water, it depends on how thick you like your shake. Now add the mocha coffee and blitz it all together till you have a smooth milkshake like drink.

Enjoy.

The original recipe uses ginseng capsules which I left out, as I didn’t have any. I will probably alternate between both of these for awhile, until they start to get a bit old too and I want something fresh again.

One response to “Breakfast smoothies – part 2

  1. Pingback: Healthy smoothie and Leg Workout | russellskitchen·

Leave a Reply

