Valentines day P3. Eton Mess

If you have been following this mini series on our Valentines day menu then you have seen the sumptuous Starter and the magnificent Main. Now its time for the delectable dessert, yum. As I have said before, this whole menu was planned to be hassle free and easy to prepare, in fact I only started cooking a few minutes before Hana left work and she didn’t have to wait too long when she got home.

I started by making the dessert as its the quickest to do and once it is done you can just whack it in the fridge to cool whilst getting on with the rest. I think this is a really great dessert to have after a romantic meal, the only proviso is that the strawberries available in the UK are not at there best in February. I am not sure where they come from (or what % of horse meat they are) but if you make it in the summer months when they are in season then its a real treat.

 

Eton mess works really well with other berries too, a raspberry one is good or for those cold nights a winter berry one is delicious! As with the rest of the menu I found the recipe on BBC Good Food and if you follow the link the original recipe is there. For ours I added a little bit of passion fruit to make it a little more exotic feeling. If I did it again I would probably blend this into the cream mix instead of just drizzling on the top.

And without further ado, Valentines day Eton mess

Ingredients,

  • 150ml Whipping cream 
  • 150ml 0% fat Greek yogurt
  • 1tsp vanilla essence
  • 2tbsp icing sugar
  • 300g strawberries
  • 100g crushed meringues
  • insides of 1 passion fruit

Recipe, 

This is so easy its almost criminal. Whip the cream, 1tbsp icing sugar and the yogurt together, then add the meringue.

Blitz the strawberries (reserving 4 or 5) and the rest of the sugar and quarter the reserved strawberries

Get a tall glass or wine glass and layer up the creamy meringue mix and the strawberry puree.

Finish with some strawberries and a drizzle of passion fruit. Done.

I hope you have enjoyed the posts about our Valentiens day meal, I can’t believe it has taken this long to post it all but never mind! Oh whilst I have you here I have to say a big thank you to everyone at my internship. I finished there recently and as a leaving gift they gave me some Carluccio’s vouchers which we used for a lovely meal last Sunday and a huge copy of Antonio Carluccio: The Collection

 

 

One response to “Valentines day P3. Eton Mess

  1. Pingback: Valentines day recipes and treats | russellskitchen·

Leave a Reply

