1 mothers day, 2 Roasts!

Roast beef cooked under high heat

Sunday was mothers day. I am pretty sure I was going to recommend a few recipes before hand which would have been perfect for a making as a mothers day lunch. But sadly again I didn’t get to it, there never seems to be quite enough time these days and I find I am spending quite a bit of time sorting stuff out for my Gran, who at 89 can’t do quite as much as she used to. But never mind I might not have been able to think to far ahead but I did end up having a double whammy of a Sunday with two Roast dinners, one which I cooked at lunch time with my Gran and the other which Hana cooked for us at home in the evening.

I am spending more time with my Gran these days and shuttling between London and Harpenden more as she needs quite a bit doing. My brother is really good and

Roast chicken, the most commonly eaten white meat

does a lot more than most people his age would so all credit to him, but he doesn’t have time to do everything and there is still a lot which the carers don’t do so it falls to someone else, me. As I knew I’d be doing lots of house work and things I also knew I wouldn’t have time to make a super nice Sunday Roast. So on Saturday I popped into M&S in Hammersmith and picked up one of their now famous dine in offers, pretty good to get a Beef joint, a tray of veg to roast, a chocolaty pudding and some sparkling drink for £15, enough to feed 4 too!

It was dead simple to cook as I just popped the beef in the over with a little oil and seasoned with salt and pepper. There was a good

selection of ready prepared veggies, I know I could have just gotten some and prep’ed them myself and if I had the time I would, but alas I had to cut the courner a bit.  Still it worked out nicely and I could just pop it all in the oven and carry on cleaning without having to worry too much about the food.

Roast beef for 4.

Ingredients
900g – 1.2kg Beef joint
2-3tbsp vegetable oil
salt and pepper to season

Mixed vegetables to roast
1 1/2 red onions in chunks
4 carrots sliced length ways
1 swede cut into bit sized chunks
4 parsnips halved length ways.

4tbsp Olive oil
Gravy granules

Recipe.

Preheat the oven to 150f/ Gas mark 3. Meanwhile heat 2tbsp olive oil in a non stick pan and brown the beef joint on all sides as well as the two ends. This should only take 2-3 minutes, your just sealing in the juices and flavour.

Transfer to a roasting tin, season and pop in the centre of the oven for 30mins per 500g for well done (which is how my Gran likes it). If you want it rare or medium then adjust the cooking times down accordingly, 15 mins per 500g should give you a nice rare cooked joint. Baste the joint with the juices every 20 minutes or so to keep it nice and moist.

Take out of the over and allow to rest for 10 minutes.

As you are cooking the beef over a low temperature you will need to cook the vegetables longer so pop them in at the same time as the beef. Add some seasoning and oil to them and straight in the oven. Whilst the beef is resting you can bang the temperature up if you want nice crisp parsnips.

Serve with a nice gravy. I cheated again here and used granules but you could make your own from scratch. Talking of which, when we had a nice Butter basted roast chicken in the evening we made a lovely Roast Chicken Gravy from scratch with the meat juices which is coming up in my next post, so keep reading!

2 responses to “1 mothers day, 2 Roasts!

  1. Pingback: Perfect Roast Chicken gravy | russellskitchen·

  2. Pingback: Crispy crackling roast pork with honey & mustard gravy | russellskitchen·

Leave a Reply

