Pork and courgette pasta

Earlier this week I shared my recipe for a great Sunday, Roast Pork with crackling. I told you all I got the recipe from the Sainsburys live well for less site. Aside from the great roast recipes there is also a section for left over recipes which can carry you through a big part of the week.

After a roast you can often end up with a lot of left overs. If there are just two of you and you have roasted a whole Chicken or a leg of Lamb it’s pretty difficult to get through it all in one sitting, though I do usually give it a good go! So what do you do with the left over meat? Well that is where having a good set of go too recipes, and a bit of a plan can come in handy. There are lots of websites which are full of great ideas for what to do with those pesky left overs.

It helps to think about what you might want to cook with the left overs before making the roast, that way you know what flavours you can and can’t use on Sunday and still be able to make dinner on Monday and Tuesday (if you play your cards right). I thought the Sainsburys site was good for planning as it gives you a simple Sunday lunch then a few different ideas which you can choose between.

For Monday evening we wanted something which would use up the pork and would also be quick and easy to make, so we picked this Pork and Courgette pasta recipe. For the most part it is really, really easy to do. The only thing which takes any time really is using a vegetable peeler to trim the courgettes into long ribbons, that did take Hana ages as there just isn’t any way to do it quickly. If you are in a hurry you could thinly slice the courgettes to save time. I don’t think that would make too drastic a change to the finished dish. Really it would be more presentation than anything else.

I didn’t remember to take any pictures of this one. I have been really bad at that lately but it isn’t completely down to me. My phone (which I take pictures on) is getting a bit old and slow now and it can take so long to load up the camera or do what I want I often don’t bother with it. That said, I could always use the iPad so got to remember to put my brain in gear.

Pork and Courgette Pasta

Ingredients – serves 4

2 medium eggs. Yolks only
75g cream
250g pasta, pick your favourite
300g(ish) cooked roast pork cut onto bite-sized bits
200g courgettes cut into ribbons with a veggie peeler
2 cloves garlic
1tbsp olive oil
salt and black pepper to season

Recipe

Gently whisk the egg yolk and cream and season with salt and pepper to taste.

Pop the pasta on to boil for 12-14 minutes stirring every so often so it doesn’t stick.

Whilst the pasta is cooking fry the garlic in a little olive oil over a gentle heat, along with the pork for 4 minutes.

When the pasta is cooked add it to the pan with the pork and garlic and stir together. Add the egg yolk and cream and cook over a low heat stirring till the sauce thickens.

Season and your ready to go.

Do you have any favourite left over recipes or tips? Let me know and I can share them here.

20130324-211623.jpg

Leave a Reply

