Shiny new camera and Asian Style Trout

Shiny new camera time

Asian trout

Asian trout

It has been a busy start to 2013. Aside from work I have also had quite a bit to do for my Gran here and there. In fact I was there today doing some decorating, which meant a trip to HomeBase yesterday to stock up on paint , tape and rollers for a day of DIY! (P.s I really enjoy doing that sort of stuff so its not a hardship!)

Since I have been working  hard the past few months, which has sometimes stopped me from keeping up with blogging as much I’d like, I decided it was time for a little treat for Russell (and why not!). So I did the very extravagant thing of not actually spending any money and  just upgrading my stuttery 2 year old phone, which has taken a lot of really great photos, to a nice shiny new one, woohoo! I am not going to go on about it having this or that feature which after trying it out I will never use in a month of Sundays, the only thing I have to say is that the camera is supposed to be awesome and has a whole bunch of great features and software for editing photos, so expect lots of pictures coming up in the next few weeks.

HTC One

HTC One (Photo credit: John.Karakatsanis)

I gave it a try out whilst cooking Asian style, baked trout fillets last night. I took a few photos of it and played around with the different filters and effects. I was quite happy with the resulting photos, at the top of the post.And whilst I remember this is a cookery blog so I should talk about the recipe too.

I threw it together from what was hanging around the fridge and the cupboards. I called it Asian baked Trout but it’s not from a recipe, just my own idea of Asian flavours.

Asian Baked Trout

Serves 2

2 Trout fillets

1 Red Chilli & 1 Green Chilli

3 Cloves of Garlic

2 small/ 1 large Spring Onion

Soy Sauce

Fish Sauce

Rice and Sliced Greens to serve

Recipe

Preheat the oven to 180c

Line a baking tray or dish with some grease proof paper, you need enough to be able to fold it over the fish into a parcel.

Next finely chop the red and green chilli, garlic and spring onions and mix them in a bowl with a few table spoons of Soy Sauce and a splash of Fish Sauce.

Pop the Trout fillets on the paper and pour over the sauce mix.

Bake in the oven for around 25 minutes

(Check it after 20, it depends on your oven)

I served it with rice and shredded greens to keep it healthy.

2 responses to “Shiny new camera and Asian Style Trout

  1. Pingback: 200th post: RussellsKitchen, a blog in review | russellskitchen·

  2. Pingback: Quick and easy meal ideas: Chicken and chips | russellskitchen·

Leave a Reply

