Soup recipe: Spicy Chorizo and Red Lentil

 Soup: Spicy Chorizo and Red Lentil

Damn. The sun came out at the weekend. I know I should be happy that spring is finally here but it means I’ve ended up being a bit late to the party for sharing this recipe. The winter and the bad weather were dragging on so long that I thought that when I got around to posting this recipe it would still be cold and wintry outside, so a big bowl of warming soup would be just the ticket. It’s a lesson in getting myself a bit more organised when it comes to posting and make sure I get things up when they still make sense to. That said I loved this soup, and like lots of soups it is really easy to make in just a few simple steps.

I found this recipe whilst browsing through the BBC Good Food site, follow the like to the original recipe. What I liked about this recipe was that it just takes a handful of ingredients which I usually have lying around in the cupboards and a in few easy steps and you have a big bowl of flavoursome warming soup. The only thing with making soup at the moment is that our stick blender is still missing, the bottom wizzy bit went walkabout ages ago and hasn’t been seen since, and we have to use the proper big blender. This means letting the soup (or anything else) cool down a bit before blitzing it, so in effect you are reheating it, meaning you can’t do it again later or tomorrow.

Red lentil and chorizo soup (Photo: russellskitchen)

Red lentil and chorizo soup (Photo: russellskitchen)

Well that just means I have to eat it all at once and as this is such a tasty meal that’s not a problem. I served it with some bread and I think that’s always the way to go with soups. Having made it before if I made it again I’d add some dried chilli flakes to give it a bit more of a kick, because I love the spicy. I also added a bit of extra garlic which I add to almost everything I cook, it is supposed to be good for you!

Please let me know if you try this out and feel free to share your favourite soup’s with me!

Red lentil and chorizo soup.

Frying chorizo (Photo: russellskitchen)

Frying chorizo (Photo: russellskitchen)

Ingredients for 4 servings

1 tbsp olive oil , plus extra for drizzling
200g cooking chorizo , peeled and diced
1 large onion , chopped
2 carrots , chopped
pinch of cumin seeds
5 garlic cloves , chopped
1 tsp smoked paprika , plus extra for sprinkling
pinch of golden caster sugar
small splash red wine vinegar
250g red lentils
2 x 400g cans chopped tomato
850ml chicken stock
plain yogurt , to serve

Optional – 2 tsp dried chilli flakes

Red lentil soup with Chorizo (Photo: russellskitchen)

Red lentil soup with Chorizo (Photo: russellskitchen)

2 cloves of garlic

Recipe

Prepare all the ingredients and have them to hand. Heat the oil in a large pan. Add the chorizo and garlic cook until crisp and it has released its oil. Remove with a to a bowl and set aside.

In the same pan (keeping the oil’s) Fry the onion, carrots and cumin seeds for 8-10 mins until soft and glistening.

Add the garlic and fry for 1 min more. Scatter over the sugar and paprika, cook for 1 min, then splash in the vinegar. Simmer for a moment, then stir in the lentils, and pour over the tomatoes and chicken stock, stir,

Red lentil and chorizo soup (Photo: russellskitchen)

Red lentil and chorizo soup (Photo: russellskitchen)

then simmer for around 30 mins or until the lentils are tender.

Blitz with a stick blender until smooth-ish but still chunky (or allow to cool then wizz in a blender).

Serve scattered with a drizzle of yogurt, the fried choriz and a sprinkling of paprika.

3 responses to “Soup recipe: Spicy Chorizo and Red Lentil

  1. Pingback: Aromatic Lamb Meatballs: Mezze Feast for a Party P2 | russellskitchen·

  2. Pingback: Hallowen: Pumpkin soup | russellskitchen·

  3. Pingback: 30 Minute Meals – Black Bean Soup | russellskitchen·

Leave a Reply

