Aromatic Lamb Meatballs: Mezze Feast for a Party P2

Swedish Meatballs: Cooking in Clarified Butter

Swedish Meatballs: Cooking in Clarified Butter (Photo credit: I Believe I Can Fry)

Mezze Feast

The sun is shinning and its beginning to warm up its time for a dish like aromatic pork meatballs. And for the first time in a while I think I will be posting about a dish which actually fits the weather and time of year. My recent post on Spicy Chorizo soup felt a bit out of place as we were already out of the depths of winter and a big bowl of warming soup’s not quite what you want when the weather turns nicer.

This is the next recipe from our party last weekend. We made a tone of Mezze for 10  between us for the evening and this could have been my favourite (okay I probably say that about a lot of things!) Even if that was a bit of an exaggeration I did really like this recipe, so much that I made it again the next evening for dinner. I think I liked this recipe so much as it reminded me of the great food you get in Greece, it’s simple uncomplicated food, just what I like.

A large plate of Mezes (Metzes) in Petra, Jordan.

A large plate of Mezes (Metzes) in Petra, Jordan. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

As with the goats cheese and walnut dip these Pork meatballs are an easy recipe to knock up quickly and would work equally well for either a dinner party or if your serving a buffet. I also found that they are still good, cold the next day, which opens up the idea of bringing them on a picnic.

At the party we served the Pork meatballs amongst the various Mezze dishes of salads, dips and  Salt and Pepper chicken along with a mountain of warmed pitta breads to serve them in. When I made them again on Sunday evening we had them in pitta’s with some leftover Green Fatoush and yogurt sprinkled with a little paprika, great comfort food to snuggle up with, which isn’t bad for you!

I said in the last post that I got the recipes for our Mezze from the Nigella Lawson cook-book Feast. The original recipe is for

Cover of "Feast: Food to Celebrate Life"

Cover of Feast: Food to Celebrate Life

Aromatic Lamb Meatballs, I substituted the Lamb for Pork. The only real reason for doing this was that I had a kilo of Pork mince in the freezer and we needed to take it out so we had space for the ice. I also changed up the recipe by using breadcrumbs instead semolina as a filler. I don’t have much use for semolina and didn’t want to get a whole pack for nothing. The last alteration I made was baking the Meatballs in the oven instead of frying them. I find they work better this was as when frying they often have a tendency to break up. So I think the recipe would work just as well with the Lamb or the Pork (personally I liked the pork)

Aromatic Pork Meatballs

Ingredients

500g Lamb or Pork
4 Spring Onions
1 Egg
3tbsp Breadcrumbs
1/2tsp Cinnamon
1tsp ground cumin
1tsp ground mixed spice
oil to cook

Baking tray
Grease proof paper

Meatball scoop

Meatball scoop (Photo credit: Adventures of Pam & Frank)

Recipe

If cooking now pop the oven on to 200c (the meatballs can be kept over night in the fridge). Take a large bowl and add the Minced Pork. Once you get your hands in you can’t go grabbing too much stuff so assemble everything first.

Chop the Spring Onion finely and measure our the spices. Whisk the Egg and have it to hand along with the Breadcrumbs measured out. Line a baking try with grease-proof paper and a drizzle of Olive Oil.

To the Minced Lamb add the Spring Onion, Spices, beaten Egg and the Breadcrumbs. I find it’s okay to throw everything at once. Now work it all together by hand.

Start making small balls of the mix, just over a teaspoon at a time is good. Pop them on the baking tray, cover with clingfilm and chill for around 30 minutes in the fridge.

Bake in the oven for 20-30 minutes, depending upon the size of your meatballs. Serve with green salad or fatoush in pitta breads and a big scoop of fat free Greek yogurt.

Leave a Reply

