Jamie Oliver’s Dan Dan Szechuan Noodles: After a very busy May!

Jamie Oliver’s Dan Dan Szechuan Noodles 

Jamie Oliver's Dan Dan Szechuan Noodles

Jamie Oliver’s Dan Dan Szechuan Noodles

When I logged in to look at the blog again and to do a post I was a little embarrassed that it has been that long again since I have posted anything. Hoh humm. Well May was a busy month, mainly because my Gran went into hospital for a three weeks. In the end she was okay and mostly it was just a few routine things they needed to sort out but it did mean several trips back to Hertfordshire to visit her in hospital, which meant a few days off work and frequently panicked working into the evening and night to keep up-to date. The laptop and iPad earned their keep being able to work on the go on trains and buses, the hard drive failure of the former last week did nothing to help the stress levels.

With my Gran in hospital it also gave me and my brother time to push on with the sorely needed redecoration and reorganising of the downstairs part of the house, which is the bit of the house she uses most of the time. I also managed to get started on sorting out the  garden and over grown flower and herb beds. Later in the year, once it is all ready I am hoping to write one or two posts about gardening and foods you can grow at home. If the herb beds pick up again and the fruit trees bloom then I should also have recipes featuring home grow-to-home-made food.

Writing a food blog and loving to cook as much as I do, I’d like to have just a little bit of garden to grow veggies on, or even somewhere to put a window box of herbs! But in the end I managed to get done what needed to be done and my gran was home just in time for her 90th birthday. Quite an achievement I think (getting to 90!) and I will be sharing the Salted Caramel Chocolate Cake I baked for the occasion but as it’s Sunday evening and I’m a little sleepy I thought I’d share the simple noodle supper we had.

This recipe once came from Jamie Oliver, Hana did have the recipe cut out from a magazine ages ago but we couldn’t find it this evening so after a quick Google search I found Kat from www.spatulaspoonandsaturday.com had a slightly substituted recipe which I made a couple of alterations to as well. So this isn’t quite the Jamie Oliver recipe for Dan Dan or Szechuan Noodles but I really liked it.This recipe made enough for me and Hana this eveing as well as some for her lunch tomorrow. I also served mine with a chicken skewer I made up quickly.

Shredded vegetables for Dan Dan Noodles

Shredded vegetables for Dan Dan Noodles

Jamie Oliver’s Dan Dan (Szechuan) Noodles

Ingredients

200g Quorn or other mince
3 nests of thin Noodles
4 Spring Onions roughly chopped (reserve some for a garnish)
1/2 a Cabbage, shredded
1/2 of a large head Broccoli
2/3 a Green Pepper chopped
1 & 1/2 Red Onions finely chopped

Chopped chili and Spring Onion

Chopped chili and Spring Onion

4 cloves of Garlic
1-2 Dried Chillies, de-seeded and chopped
bunch of Coriander chopped (reserve some for a garnish)
1tbsp Greek Honey
2tbsp Light Soy Sauce
1 reduced salt Stock Cube
Cooking oil

Recipe

Dan Dan Szechuan noodles - mince and onions

Dan Dan Szechuan noodles – mince and onions

Prep all your ingredients. In a medium pan heat enough cooking oil to coal the bottom of the pan and when quite hot add the chili, garlic and onion. Fry for a few minutes to infuse the oil before adding your quorn (or other mince). Quorn cooks pretty quickly so keep stirring.

In a second sauce pan add boiling water, about 1 kettle full, and when back to the boil and add the veggies and noodles as well as the stock cube. Let this bubble away for about 4-5 minutes.

Meanwhile add the honey to the mince and stir to coat it all before adding the soy sauce then add the coriander.

Drain the vegetables and noodles reserving 1 mug full of cooking liquid (I kept the rest to use in a miso soup the next day).

Chopped coriander

Chopped coriander

Add the mince and sauce to the noodles and veggies before adding some of the reserved mug of liquid back, how much is your own taste really.

Serve with the reserved spring onion and coriander and a nice alcoholic ginger beer, yum!

After a very busy May it has been nice to have had a Sunday where we didn’t really do much and fingers crossed normal service should now be resumed!

Leave a Reply

