Summer Eating: Low fat Egg, Spinach and Chorizo salad

A tasty and low fat salad perfect for summer evenings: Egg, chorizo, spinach and roasted tomato.

Chorizo, egg and spinach salad with roasted tomatoes

Chorizo, egg and spinach salad with roasted tomatoes

This is my take on a recipe I found on BBC Food, its a site which I highly recommend as you can find most of the recipes from BBC cookery shows as well as lots of extra ones by top chefs there. I found this summery recipe last week whilst looking for a quick and easy summer supper. I made a few tweeks here and there to suite what I have in the fridge and needed to use up which I think made it even better. But that’s me blowing my-own trumpet as usualy!

Summer in London: working from home

Working from home definitely has its advantages, no commuting for one. But it also has its disadvantages, you spend a lot of the day by yourself and when it get’s to the summer our flat turns into a furnace. It might be pretty warm or hot outside, but inside it becomes like an oven! The afternoons and early evenings can be almost unbearable and a lot of the time I have to go out for a few hours at least.

I have spent quite a few afternoons recently in the local Starbucks by Ealing Green. Its nice and cool with power points to plug my laptop in and WiFi for the net. Coupled with a mug of cheap filter coffee its not a bad way to spend an afternoon. I guess a good side effect of a roasting flat is that I have to go out which means I see people, even sitting in a cafe can be nice as there is always lots of activity going on. So why do I bring this up in a recipe? Well when it’s that hot I (or you) don’t want to spend ages tied to an oven or by the hob in a sweltering kitchen wondering which will be done first, me or the dinner?

So a warm salad is a good compromise, it doesn’t take too much cooking which is a god-send at this time of year, plus this is a very tasty and dare I say it healthy meal. I warmed the broccoli through but it could easily have been raw. The only things which need to be cooked are poaching egg’s for a few minutes and roasting the tomatoes and chorizo for about 20 minutes under a grill.

I hope you like this delicious warm summer salad

Summer salad

Summer salad

Ingredients

Ready made low fat croutons

Drizzle of Olive Oil

6 baby plum tomatoes

2 cloves of Garlic

1 ring of  Chorizo

2 Eggs

1 bag of baby Spinach

Salt and Peper

1 head of Broccoli

Basil

Herb garden salad

Dressing 

2 tbsp Olive Oil

1 tsp white wine vinegar

1 tbsp wholegrain mustard

Recipe

St James Park, London

St James Park, London

Start by chopping your tomatoes in half, line on a baking tray and top each with a basil leaf and a slice of garlic. On the same baking tray chop the chorizo and pop on the same tray.

Cook under a preheated grill for 15 – 20 minutes turning the Chorizo half way through. Drain the sliced chorizo on kitchen paper to remove the fat.

Heat two pans of water, in one add the broccoli and the other poach the eggs.

For the dressing whisk together the olive oil, white wine vinegar and wholegrain mustard until an emulsion.

In a salad bowl pop the washed herb garden salad and baby spinach leaves. Toss in the croutons and the garlicy tomatoes along with the Chorizo. Top with the drained poached eggs.

Top the salad with the dressing and enjoy!

 

4 responses to “Summer Eating: Low fat Egg, Spinach and Chorizo salad

  1. Hi! Thanks for posting this recipe, the salad looks great and tasty! I am living the same dream: working from home too, in an oven-like flat. About to go out to a cafe hoping for more bearable temperature in Richmond. Have a nice afternoon! Alix

    Like

    • Hi Alix, glad you liked the salad. Working from home good, working from home in a oven-like flat bad :(. I think I will be heading out to a cafe this afternoon too. I love Richmond, its lovely by the river. Can you recommend any good cafe’s as I sometimes go there for work too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

