Gigantes Plaki: Round two

Gigantes Plaki: Redux

Gigantes Plaki: round two

Gigantes Plaki: round two

This one is from the archives. I first made this tasty and filling veggie recipe back last year. I can’t remember when I first made it or how I cam across it? I think I was looking for Greek recipes as it was just after our holiday there but then again I might have just been looking up a veggie meal for that evening. Anyway we’d had it a few times and thought it was really nice. Its got a lot going for it as a great mid-week-meal.

  1. Tasty. The tomatoes, onions, garlic, herbs and spices all come together really well. It’s something which could seem bland when you first hear about it – but no a few herbs and spices can make a big difference.
  2. Healthy. It’s basically just vegetables (okay I know the tomato is a fruit) and pulses, butter beans and chickpeas as I made it then. Yes it has a tiny bit of sugar but what’s that between two people?
  3. Cheap. As I said this dish is made up of vegetables which you can pick up from a greengrocer or market for next to nothing and a couple of cans of beans of some description.

So whats not to like with them? This time around I spiced up the recipe a little I whacked in some paprika and pepper to deepen the flavour and a courgette thinly sliced for more veggie goodness. I swapped the chickpeas (not my favourite by a long way) for cannellini beans, which I think I go far better with the butterbeans. I also switched out 1 can of tomatoes for 6 chopped fresh tomatoes

You can find the original recipe from last year here but here is the version I cooked today.

Gigantes Plaki:

Gigantes Plaki the redux!

Gigantes Plaki the redux!

Ingredients

400g can butter beans
300g can cannellini beans

good glug of olive oil
1 large Spanish onion, finely chopped
2-3 cloves of Garlic, crushed and chopped
1 400g cans of plum tomatoes
6 medium tomatoes roughly chopped, they should still be quite chunky.
1tsp oregano
1tsp cinnamon
1tsp paprika
1 courgette, thinly sliced
60g feta cheese, cubed
chopped parsley
New potatoes

Recipe

Preheat your oven to 180c/160c fan/Gas 5. To save a little on washing up I cooked it on the hob in a metal oven-proof dish.

In a big saucepan (or your oven-proof dish) heat the the olive oil and tip in the chopped onion and garlic along with the oregano. Cook over a medium heat for 5 minutes until soft.

Lay the courgette slices over the onion and cook for a minute or two to soften then stir through the onion. Add the cinnamon and paprika. Cook for another 5 minutes before adding the chopped tomatoes.

Now add the remaining ingredients (plum tomatoes, beans etc but not the parsley). Bring to the boil then simmer uncovered for 5 minutes. Tip into a large oven proof dish (if not already in one) and bake in the oven for around 45 minutes to an hour, depending on your oven.

Pop your potatoes on to boil after 30 minutes, they should take around 25-30 minutes to boil.

When almost ready to serve scatter with the parsley and stir through. Add the feta and return to the oven for a final 5 minutes. Drizzle with a little olive oil and serve with the boiled new potatoes.

My contribution to Thrifty Thursday!

By Russell Bowes

One response to “Gigantes Plaki: Round two

Leave a Reply

