Chicken in parchment paper

Poulet en Papillote: baked chicken

chicken en papillote, with vegetables and herbs

chicken en papillote, with vegetables and herbs Photo: Russell Bowes

When I loaded up WordPress to write this post on chicken cooked in parchment paper, I saw that my last 3 have been food related but not me actually cooking, whoops! I might just look like I am being lazy and not cooking much at the moment, but I have been whipping up some lovely things in the kitchen; trying to perfect a couple of recipes I’ve cooked before and even trying out a few new cooking techniques. I’ve also been working on some guest posts which hopefully will be up on line in the next few weeks, fingers crossed!

So to cooking today. This is a new cooking technique for me, in that I have had fish and meat cooked in this way in restaurants at home or when I’ve been abroad, but I haven’t actually tried it myself in the kitchen. I looked on line to get a feel for how to cook things in this way and came across a few recipes. Fish and chicken seem to be the two main things which are cooked in this way and I thought I’d start by trying chicken.

It was going to be a bit of an experiment so I waited for an evening when Hana was going to be out, I figured if I made a bad meal just for me then it didn’t matter. I did however make enough so that if it did work-out and I’d made a nice dinner then there would be enough for both of us.

I thought the best way to approach cooking chicken in parchment paper would be to keep it simple for the first outing, just use a few simple vegetables and herbs which I knew work well with chicken. For my first foray I used used a mix of vegetables like leeks, peppers and parsley, lemon and garlic. I have put together the recipe I used below but you can mix and match vegetables and herbs to include your own favourites.

Poulet en papillote, chicken in baking paper

Poulet en papillote, chicken in baking paper Photo: Russell Bowes

I made three chicken in parchment paper parcels, one each for me and Hana (assuming it worked out) and one for my lunch the next day.

Chicken in parchment paper:

Preparation time 5 mins
Cooking time 20-25 mins
Ingredients for 3 portions

3 chicken breasts
1 ½ red peppers, sliced
1 green pepper, sliced
1 large leek, shredded
1 lemon sliced
bunch of fresh parsley

Recipe

Wash, then prepare the vegetables by shredding the leek and slicing the peppers and lemon. Wash the parsley and set aside to drain or dry on some kitchen paper.

Measure out a square of parchment or baking paper and place 1/3rd of the shredded leeks in the middle. Top with some of the red pepper. Sit the chicken breast on the bed of vegetables and top with slices of green pepper and two thin slices of lemon.

Chicken parcel

Chicken parcel. Bake in the oven with vegetables and herbs Photo: Russell Bowes

Top it all off with a generous sprig of parsley. Fold the pack over to form a parcel then seal the two ends by folding under the parcel .

Place in a preheated oven at 180c and cook for 20-25 minutes. The chicken should be perfectly steamed in the parcel.
Serve with potatoes and some lovely green vegetables.

I was pleased with the results, the recipe worked out well. The chicken was cooked perfectly and the vegetables were steamed in the pack but still retained some of their crunch which I think is good as I don’t like over-cooked vegetables.

 Russell.Bowes@gmail.com

3 responses to “Chicken in parchment paper

  1. This sounds lovely. I sometimes use this method with white fish dotted with butter, a small amount of lemon zest and a splash of white wine. It’s so good with green beans and Charlotte potatoes. And the rest of the wine 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks, for liking and commenting. That sounds like a good fish recipe. I tried baking Sea Bass like this last week, my firstvgo with fish. Are there any white fish you’d recommend?

      Like

  2. Pingback: Quick and easy meal ideas: Chicken and chips | russellskitchen·

Leave a Reply

