Tomato Keftedes, or Greek tomato patties

Keftedes, attempt three!

Ingredients for Santorini tomato balls

Ingredients for Santorini tomato balls Photo: RussellsKitchen

This is not my first go at making keftedes, or fried tomato balls from Santorini. I first tried making them back in May of last year and I have tied them since; but frustratingly they never quite turn out as I’d like them to, its annoying. The recipe is pretty simple, just a few ingredients roughly prepared and then fried. Nothing complicated. In a way I guess they could be seen as similar to making potato croquettes, in that you have mashed up the vegetables and deep fried them (but these are so much more than just a bit of grated or mashed potato) As with Croquettes, there’s no odd cooking techniques to use. Still they have never turned out as I’ve wanted them to, so far. 

So I scoured  the internet to look at how other people have made Keftedes. I my search I found a couple of pretty good recipes which I combined and modified to bring you today’s attempt. Okay I have to say I think they worked out much better this time around. For this recipe I went a little different or unconventional to most recipe’s you’ll find out there. Generally people use either tomato or courgette (Zucchini) but I threw caution to the wind in my desire to make them well and thought I’d try using both tomato and courgette in the same recipe.

How did I get on with my third attempt at making Tomato Keftedes?

This time I started with cherry tomatoes which I thought would give a lovely sweet flavour to the dish. I removed the seeds as well to try and get any excess liquid out, which has been a problem before, making the batter too wet. Before I made the recipe with potato in as well as breadcrumbs on the outside which didn’t seem to work. So I left both of these out and used flour to give it some body.

Here we go with this attempt!

Tomato Keftedes – Ingredients

Santorini tomato keftedes Photo: RussellsKitchen

Santorini tomato keftedes Photo: RussellsKitchen

2lbs Cherry tomatoes + 2 large tomatoes
1/2 a courgette
1 Onion
1 red or green chilli
1/2 a bunch of mint
1/2 a bunch of Basil or parsley
100g Feta cheese
Salt and pepper
1/2 a cup of flour*

Oil for frying

*you might need more or less flour.

Recipe

Begin by chopping and de-seeding the tomatoes. Roughly chop the onion, chilli and courgette. Wash the herbs, then roughly chop these too.

Chopped and de-seaded tomatoes Photo: RussellsKitchen

Chopped and de-seaded tomatoes Photo: RussellsKitchen

Add the tomatoes, onion, courgette, chilli and herbs (parsley and mint) to a mixing bowl. Break up the feta and crumble in too.

Tomato keftedes, mix Photo: RussellsKitchen

Tomato keftedes, mix Photo: RussellsKitchen

Now here’s the cheat. What I did was to mix it all up then pop into a blender to whizz. This breaks everything down and really mixes it together finely. I found this worked better than when I have made it before, but you do. loose the vegetables texture.

Pop it back into the mixing bowl and gradually add the flour till it becomes a thick paste. Leave to site for a couple of hours covered in the fridge.

Stir in the flour then pop in the fridge

Stir in the flour then pop in the fridge

Heat the oil in the pan and drop tablespoon sized blobs of mixture, shape into a ball or patty. Fry on both sides till golden then drain them on kitchen paper.

Fry till golden on both sides Photo: RussellsKitchen

Fry till golden on both sides Photo: RussellsKitchen

Serve on a bed of salad. 

To see more photos from this and other recipe, head over to my Flickr photostream, check me out on Twitter and to find out more about me, check out my profile on Google plus.

Russell.Bowes@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

