Day 3 Budget week: Living on £20 a week

Budget Mushroom and Ham Pizza Photo: Russell Bowes

And so day three begins and I’m getting towards the half way point throught the budget challenge. If you haven’t been following so far, I am trying to see if me and Hana can live for a week on £20 between us. That has to do for anything we need to buy this week from new food, what we dont have in the store cupboard to entertainment and going out. Expenses like getting the tube to work don’t count towards the challenge otherwise it would all be gone in just a couple of days on the tube fares alone!

I’m happy with how we are getting on so far. I know I was a little worried after going over budget on Monday but I got my head in the game yesterday and made a plan for the week, and today that paid off.

As I said yesterday, Hana was out for dinner on the company. That did help a little but I made such a huge bowl of tabouleh that between last nights dinner and lunch today I didn’t make much of a dent in it. Also the pizza recipe I made equates to a 15inch pizza which would have done for me and Hana last night or as it turned out for my dinner last night and lunch today. Pretty good when the pizza cost £1.28 to make and the tabouleh cost £0.76 for a bowl of 6 servings.

So how did I get on today? Lets find out.

Breakfast

I started out today as I did on Monday. There was some of the peach yogurt left over and I had this with Special K from the cupboard. Along with this I had a big mug of black coffee. The milk ran out yesterday I’m trying to go a couple of days without buying anymore, good job I like black coffee and herbal tea. I also had the last of Mondays bread with some lemon curd on it.

bread and lemon curd – 10p
cereal – 22p
yogurt – 10p

Total cost of breakfast – 42p

Mid-Morning Snack

I’m not the biggest fan of fruit but I’m finding that I am having more of it this week as cheap snacks from the greengrocers. Today? 1 orange and a mug of decaff coffee

Total cost of snack 25p

Lunch

Budget tabouleh

Budget tabouleh Photo: Russell Bowes

This was pretty quick and simple really. It was the same as last night. Half the pizza from last night and a serving of the tabouleh. I’m quite proud of my budget pizza recipe. When you consider that that if we have a pizza night from Dominos, always on the Two for One Tuesday it still comes to around £20 for the pizza’s and some coke. I made this at home for a fraction of the cost and at least I know what went into it!

Pizza – 64p
Tabouleh – 12p
Total cost of lunch 76p

Dinner

Budget tabouleh

Budget tabouleh Photo: Russell Bowes

We hit the gym when Hana got back from work. I go pretty regularly, about 5 days a week, whether early morning, afternoon or evening. Working for yourself and setting your own hours has its advantages. So we got back mid way through the evening and thats a classic time when we might order a takeaway. Your tired from working and hitting the gym, its a bit late too.

Well today we didn’t get the takeaway as that would destroy the budget completly! Taking stock there was still quite a bit of tabouleh left over. So I popped some of the frozen sausages I bought yesterday in the oven to cook and when they were almost ready I boiled the bag of spinach I also got yesterday. I think that works a both a budget and a healthy meal too. Lots of greens in it.

7 Sausages – 38p
2 servings of Tabouleh – 24p
Bag of Spinach – £1

Total cost of dinner for two £1.62

Well there was no new spending today from the shops, so what was the cost of breakfast lunch an dinner? First I should say that Hana didn’t have a packed lunch as a catering company was in her office at lunch time giving samples out for everyone to try. That’s not an every day occurance but I guess it helped. Had she needed one there would have been more than enough tabouleh and mided with either ham or chopped sausage it would have been a tasty and filling lunch. I might also have done a bif of baking for it. Either way there would still have been food left over today so yes it helps but it didn’t need to. Well there was no new spending today from the shops, so what was the cost of breakfast lunch an dinner? First I should say that Hana didn’t have a packed lunch as a catering company was in her office at lunch time giving samples out for everyone to try. That’s not an every day occurance but I guess it helped. Had she needed one there would have been more than enough tabouleh and mided with either ham or chopped sausage it would have been a tasty and filling lunch. I might also have done a bif of baking for it. Either way there would still have been food left over today so yes it helps but it didn’t need to.

Sausages and tobouleh. Oh tabouleh. Photo: Russell Bowes

Total cost of todays food £3.05

By Russell Bowes

Like, suscribe an follow me on Twitter, Google plus and Flickr

Leave a Reply

