Healthy eating and fitness: Smoothie and a Leg Workout

Super breakfast smoothie and Leg workout.

A look at healthy eating and a sample of one of my leg workouts.

Energizing Breakfast Shake Photo: Russell Bowes

Energizing Breakfast Shake Photo: Russell Bowes

Well I have to apologise to the internet and everyone out there, I was going to be looking at healthy eating and fitness through last week, but as things ran away with me through the week I ran out of time. So with that in mind, and with me heading off on holiday next week, I am going to be running it as a series of posts over the next couple of weeks. I’ll be sharing the posts on Google plus and Twitter so you can keep up with me there and see when a new post comes up.

Back flex 2 Photo: Russell Bowes

Back flex 2 Photo: Russell Bowes

I guess you could say, despite what a lot of the posts on this blog might lead you to think, I try to eat well and to stay in shape. I’ll hold my hands up straight away and say that I don’t always get all the fruit and vegetables that I should, but I do try to eat a reasonably balanced diet. Yep I love eating dessert and every time I see a nice piece of cake, or a muffin then I’m just drawn to it, as the voice in the back of my head says “go on, it’s just one little bit”. Do I pull away and reach for the apple, well not always. One recent hang over from the recent budget week challenge I shared with you, was that I have dialled back my snacking on things like muffins, or flap jacks. I saw a real difference in the cash in my pocket when I switched to snacking on fruit (fresh and dried), nuts and other healthier things. The result, well I guess I fell a bit healthier, though I miss the cake!

Along side eating right (in theory) I love to hit the gym. Ever since I first got a set of weights years ago when I went to uni I have loved lifting. There was a time when all I really cared about was lifting heavy weights and I didn’t watch what I ate at all, along with an aversion to cardio in just about any form, bar walking, I got pretty big. Not good big, just chunky chubby, big tummy big.

These days I try to take a better approach to the gym and think about what I am doing over the long term, not just lifting something humongous, but exercising in an intelligent way. I hope the result is a better, stronger, healthier version Russell.

Healthy Eating

The first recipe in this series for a healthy breakfast smoothie is actually one which I posted about back in February. I got the recipe from an youtube channel, the original video is here, where the presenter really goes into why each ingredient is a great addition and what it helps with.

Fitness and exercise

Getting huge Photo: Eric McGregor

Getting huge Photo: Eric McGregor

I thought it would also be a good idea to share some of my workouts too. Whilst I almost always include the core exercises of squat, bench press and deadlift, I mix up the other exercises that I include in a workout, my attempt at keeping the body guessing. I’ve lifted weights for quite a few years now as I said so I pretty much know what does and doesn’t work for me. I think you have to find what best works for your body and go with it. For me, it’s going heavy, which means I have to force myself into dropping the weight now and then to do higher rep work.

A sample leg workout.

45 degree Leg Press

4 warm up sets at increasing weight
5 working sets of 2 reps at 90 – 100% of 1 rep max

Seated Leg Extension

4 sets of 10 reps at increasing weight
4 sets of 2 – 6 reps at increasing weight – up to 100% 1 rep max

Seated Leg Curl

4 sets of 10 reps at increasing weight
4 sets of 2-5 reps at increasing weight – up to 100% 1 rep max

Laying Leg Curl

3 sets to failure at 60% 1 rep max

Hip Adductor

4 sets of 10 reps at increasing weight
4 sets of 5 – 7 reps at increasing weight – up to 80% 1 rep max

Hip Abductor

3 sets of 10 reps at 70% 1 rep max
1 set of Trunk twists – to failure

Well I hope that gives you a little insight into some of my healthy eating habits and a little of what I do in the gym. I will be sharing more healthy recipes and sample workouts.

If you have any questions or comments or anything you’d like to see about a future workout, please do so below and I will try and answer any questions you might have.

Unless stated Recipe, text and photos By Russell Bowes

Find me on Google Plus, catch up and message me on Twitter and see more great pictures on Flickr and Pintrest

7 responses to “Healthy eating and fitness: Smoothie and a Leg Workout

  1. Pingback: Healthy eating and fitness: Chest work out and homemade chips | russellskitchen·

  2. Pingback: 2013: A year in food | russellskitchen·

  3. Pingback: Spirulina, a little algae with a big punch | russellskitchen·

Leave a Reply

