Lazy Sunday photo post: Spaghetti Carbonara

Spaghetti pasta with Carbonara sauce

Hot Food Photo: Russell Bowes

Hot Food Photo: Russell Bowes

Okay its late Sunday afternoon and I’m sitting looking out on a very rainy London. The skies might have cleared for a little bit, but I don’t think that will last forever. This week has been more relaxed than the previous week where I was catching up from holiday was and I’m hoping to start getting some post’s about Rome and its wonderful food up on the blog in the next week or so.

So as it is edging into Sunday evening, and I’m feeling a bit lazy, today I am posting some images of the lovely Spaghetti Carbonara with garlic bread which my brother cooked for Hana and I when we visited him a couple of weeks ago as a bit of a house warming.

I should have followed what he was doing more closely so that I could share the recipe with you but we were catching up at the time and whilst I saw what went in, I didn’t take note of the quantities and ratios of the various ingredients but I’ll give a rough idea of the recipe.

Carbonara recipe Photo: Russell Bowes

Carbonara recipe Photo: Russell Bowes

I know the Adam followed a basic carbonara sauce recipe of olive oil, cream, Parmesan cheese and pancetta with a few additional ingredients like mushrooms, onions and red pepper. I know these are not in a traditional carbonara recipe, but I think they made a great addition. The mushrooms worked extremely well in the sauce as they blend and melt into the sauce along with the onions.

Pasta Carbonara Photo: Russell Bowes

Pasta Carbonara Photo: Russell Bowes

As a side dish, Adam also made some homemade garlic bread, using a flavoured butter he had made a few days ago. From what he said, I think the ingredients were garlic, red chili and coriander, but I’m not 100% sure.

Comming up next should be a lovely tomato risotto and later in the week I’ll take a look at another workout and hopefully start looking at Rome too.

Recipe, text and photos By Russell Bowes

Find me on Google Plus, catch up and message me on Twitter and see more great pictures on Flickr and Pintrest

2 responses to “Lazy Sunday photo post: Spaghetti Carbonara

  1. Pingback: Tomato and Rosemary Risotto | russellskitchen·

Leave a Reply

