Hallowen: Pumpkin soup

Pumpkin soup recipe

Halloween pumpkin soup Photo: Russell Bowes

Halloween pumpkin soup Photo: Russell Bowes

Halloween is fast approaching which means lots of us will be buying pumpkins to decorate and make scary pumpkin faces. Hana and I might be a little older but we still enjoy making a jack o’lantern each year. Just because you are older doesn’t mean you can’t enjoy carving a funny or scary face in a pumpkin. I think I still do it as I grew up making them every year and just never fell out of the habit. The problem with this, is that you end with with a glut of pumpkin to use up. Even a small pumpkin leaves you with over a kilo of pumpkin to use up.

When I was younger we usually ended up throwing out the pumpkin. Whilst my gran was a good cook she never really knew what to do with pumpkin’s, they were always seen as a bit of an American thing. So a lot of pumpkin ended up in the bin. These days I don’t like to waste food in this way. There is a lot you can do with that much pumpkin so I think you should. The first thing I thought of making was a pumpkin tart or pie. I have always wanted to try one of these but as Hana is not too keen on pastry, and as I shouldn’t eat a whole one to myself, I had a think a came up with pumpkin soup.

I think this is a great meal for this time of year. By the end of October, it’s getting cold and wet and generally miserable, so I want really warming and comforting meals. A lovely spicy bowl of filling soup can really go down a treat. This pumpkin soup recipe is filling, packed with vegetables and nicely spiced. Exactly what you need to get through a cold Halloween.

I was going to be really, really good and roast the pumpkin seeds. I did set them aside, washed them and laid them out on kitchen paper with more on top to dry. Unfortunately I left them covered in kitchen paper too long whilst cooking and they ended up stuck to the paper and weren’t much use.

Well, the seeds didn’t work out but the soup itself did. And yes and the pictures show we had it with some very, very classy potato waffles.

Pumpkin soup and potato waffles Photo: Russell Bowes

Pumpkin soup and potato waffles Photo: Russell Bowes

Pumpkin soup recipe

Ingredients

1 tbsp butter
6 shallots
750g pumpkin (or other squash)
1 large can of sweetcorn
600ml vegetable stock
1tsp lemon juice
1tsp cumin
1tsp paprika
2 cloves of garlic
1 tsp cinnamon

Recipe.

Heat the butter over a medium heat, add the shallots and garlic along with the spices (cinnamon, cumin and paprika) and cook gently till translucent. Make sure not to brown the onions.

Whilst that is cooking remove the skin from your pumpkin and chop into 1 inch dice, this makes it cook faster. When the onions are ready, add the pumpkin, sweet corn and the stock. Bring to the boil then reduce to a gentle simmer. Cook for around 30 minutes.

The liquid should reduce a little and the pumpkin be soft when prodded with a fork.

When the pumpkin is cooked, remove the soup from the heat and pop in a blender, whizz till smooth. Serve with a nice cool salsa and even a potato waffle!

Warming soup recipes:

Budget vegetable soup
Spice chorizo and red lentil soup

Recipe, text and photos By Russell Bowes

Find me on Google Plus, catch up and message me on Twitter and see more great pictures on Flickr and Pintrest

Leave a Reply

