Mexican theme dinner party: Shrimp Enchiladas

Creamy shrimp and fish enchiladas

Tasty Shrimp and Turkey Enchilada's Photo: Russell Bowes

Tasty Shrimp and Turkey Enchilada’s Photo: Russell Bowes

A couple of posts ago I shared Hana’s great Nachos recipe which she made as the starter to a Mexican themed dinner party we had at the beginning of January. Today I am going to share the main course with you and I have to admit this recipe is not my own. It comes from another food blog called The Girl Who Ate Everything, which Hana introduced me to a few weeks ago when she was looking through lots of really tasty Mexican and American recipes.

Both Hana and I really love cooking and eating Mexican food, though I think it’s a real passion for Hana, and so we are always on the look out for great recipes to try at home. Hana went looking for a shrimp or seafood enchilada recipe after we went out for a pre-theatre dinner at a Mexican restaurant in Covent Garden. The restaurant is called Cafe Pacifico. Hana had been before with work mates and had the seafood enchilada which I tried when we went and almost immediately fell in love with it.

Chicken and Seafood Enchiladas at Cafe Pacifico, Covent Garden Photo: Russell Bowes

Chicken and Seafood Enchiladas at Cafe Pacifico, Covent Garden Photo: Russell Bowes

We ordered the Seafood Enchilada’s and the Chicken Enchiladas and shared them between us, a very good choice I think and washed down with a Corona it was perfect. #

Cafe Pacifico, Great Mexican Food Photo: Russell Bowes

Cafe Pacifico, Great Mexican Food Photo: Russell Bowes

As I said after that Hana really wanted us to cook some at home and that’s how the whole Mexican theme for our dinner party came into being. After finding the recipe for Creamy Shrimp Enchilada’s from The Girl Who Ate Everything I did have a think about how I could put my own spin or signature on it.

I substituted half of the shrimp (or Prawns if you are in the UK like me) and replaced it with Cod which I baked them crumbled into the mixture at the same time as the shrimp/ prawns. I was also a bit thrown with one of the ingredients, Salsa Verde. It’s not something I have seen ready made in the supermarket here so I checked on the good old Google and found a nice recipe using a variety of lovely herbs.

Mexican Enchiladas Recipe Photo: Russell Bowes

Mexican Enchiladas Recipe Photo: Russell Bowes

I really liked this recipe and found the blog to be really nice as well. I don’t have the best possible pictures from these as I may well have been sneaking a big of wine now and then whilst preparing these. We did also try one of Christy’s other recipes too for Chicken Enchilada’s which were really nice too, so thanks to Christy for for the recipe, one I am sure we will try again very soon!

Text and photos By Russell Bowes

Find me on Google Plus, catch up and message me on Twitter and see more great pictures on Flickr and Pintrest

Enhanced by Zemanta
5 responses to “Mexican theme dinner party: Shrimp Enchiladas

  1. Pingback: White Chocolate Cheesecake with Raspberry Coulis recipe | russellskitchen·

  2. Pingback: Spicy Mexican Enchiladas | russellskitchen·

Leave a Reply

