Goes With Anything Tomato Sauce

Vegetarian Lasagne

Vegetarian Lasagne Photo: Russell Bowes

I was sitting down to write this post when I thought I should look back and see if I have written about baking a vegetarian lasagne before? Well yikes, I took a quick look at the recipes I have posted about before and I have already shared a couple of recipes for a vegetarian lasagne. It’s one of my favourite meals to make, surprisingly these days I even prefer a vegetarian lasagne to good old meaty ones! I think it’s the roasted vegetables which I often use in the sauce, roasted red pepper has to be one of the best food there is!

Baking a vegetarian lasagne Photo: Russell Bowes

Baking a vegetarian lasagne Photo: Russell Bowes

Seeing that I was about to share a 3rd recipe for vegetable lasagne I started thinking about what my favourite recipes are and how often I make them. Most of us have a repertoire of meals which we fall back on and I’m no different. I saw an article recently which said on average people rotate through 6 or 7 dishes which they can prepare very well. I’d say I probably have a few more than that, but I still have big favourites which I come back to again and again. What are your go to recipes?

Most of my go-to recipes are based around simple and tasty pasta and sauce dishes, like a vegetable lasagne. I return to these recipes time and time again because I love creating wonderfully rich tomato sauces, the best part about recipes like this is that they are even better the next day. The flavours in tomato sauces deepen and richen when you leave them overnight and they become much better.
Vegetarian Lasagne recipe

You can follow the main recipe for a vegetarian roasted red pepper lasagne here. Today I am sharing a recipe which you can use instead of the red wine sauce. You can download the Goes with Anything Tomato Sauce recipe here.

Multipurpose Tomato sauce

Goes with anything tomato sauce Photo: Russell Bowes

Goes with anything tomato sauce Photo: Russell Bowes

Ingredients for 500ml

2 x 400g cans chopped tomatoes
1 large onion, finely sliced
4 cloves of garlic, finely sliced
10 green olives, sliced
1tsp capers, rinsed
1 red pepper, small dice
2 sticks of celery, diced
2 carrots, diced

From the store cupboard
Olive oil
Dried basil, 1-2tsp
Dried oregano
20ml Balsamic vinegar
Cracked black pepper

  1. Begin by dicing the onion, garlic and celery. Add enough olive oil to a heavy bottom pan to coat its bottom and pop over a medium heat with the dried herbs (basil and oregano). Fry the onion, garlic and celery for 10 minutes till softened.
  2. Add the carrots and peppers, stir to coat in the oil and herbs and continue to fry for several more minutes till softened.
  3. Add the chopped tomatoes and the balsamic vinegar. Bring to a boil, then reduce to a simmer.
  4. Add the (rinsed) capers and the olives and stir through the sauce. Try a bit of the sauce (watch out it’s hot!) and add salt and pepper to taste.
  5. Simmer for 30 minutes, then ready.

I have used this sauce in several recipes, a lot of which are my favourite. What are your favourite recipes?

Recipe, text and photos By Russell Bowes

Find me on Google Plus, catch up and message me on Twitter and see more great pictures on Flickr and Pintrest

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 responses to “Goes With Anything Tomato Sauce

Leave a Reply

