Tips for a Fun and Festive Dinner Party

I love having people over for a dinner party but it can really be alot of work, even if there aren’t too many guests. Today’s post is a guest article brought to you by Arianna Pierce where she shares her top tips for a smooth dinner party,  just in time for those Easter get-togethers!

Homemade Chicken Rolls

Homemade Chicken Rolls

As a mother of two little ones, I spend a lot of time running around with my kids, but it’s really important for me to find extra time to relax, and spend time with my friends. One of my favorite ways to do this is by hosting dinner parties. I love entertaining, and any excuse to have a party is a good one for me. I recently spent time with my sister and her family in Philadelphia, and picked up some great tips that I will definitely use at my next dinner party!

 

1. Consider a Potluck

pot luck

Try a pot luck dinner party Photo: Morgan

Cooking for a large amount of people can often be a daunting, exhausting task, and catering can definitely get expensive. For your next dinner party, consider hosting a potluck, where you ask your guests to each bring a side dish, dessert, or drink to contribute to the event. Guests can sign up for what they want to bring so there isn’t any overlap, and it’ll give your friends the opportunity to get creative, have some fun, and feel like they are included in organizing the dinner party. It’ll be less work for you, and I guarantee that your guests will come up with even better options than you could have thought of!
You can take this potluck idea one step further by having a theme for your dinner party. I love to travel, and for my next dinner party, I decided it is going to have an “Around the World” theme. Each guest will bring a different dish or treat from a different part of the world, and it’ll be an eclectic (and yummy!) feast.

2. Accommodation is the Answer

Keep a  vegetarian option on standby Photo: Russell Bowes

Keep a vegetarian option on standby Photo: Russell Bowes

When you’re having guests over for a dinner party, it’s important to consider everyone’s needs. Whether it’s food allergies or just preferences, accommodation is definitely key. Make sure to have at least one vegetarian option, and I also like to have some gluten-free choices for anyone who needs it. If you want to go the extra mile, it’s always nice to reach out to guests beforehand on the invite or thru e-mail to see if they need any special accommodation. They’ll really appreciate your consideration, and it’ll allow you to be much more prepared.

3. While the Dog is Away…

I love my lab, Brodie, but a dog isn’t always conducive to a nice dinner party. He loves the attention of a lot of guests, but his energy and excitement can be a lot for a large group, especially when not all of the guests are dog-lovers like my husband and I. Because of this, it’s great to find a good place for your dog to stay during your party. My sister was not happy when she found out we brought Brodie along to her house. We used a local dog-sitter who took him for a couple hours, and at the end of the night we were able to bring him back home after the guests had left. It made for a less stressful (and hair free) environment for sure!

4. Goodbye Goodies

Goody bags for your guests

Goody bags for your guests Photo: 1000heads

At the end of the night, I love to leave my guests with some goodbye goodies. This could mean sending everyone home with little containers of leftover food, or encouraging them to take home some of the flowers that served as centerpieces. Sometimes I’ll even put together little goodie bags as a parting gift. These may include a baked-good (one of my favorite hobbies), some scented soap, or some seeds for gardening. It’s a fun way to leave your guests with a little memory of a great night!

Arianna is a full-time mom and a fashion-lover, world traveler, animal lover, and family woman extraordinaire. She loves to cook and bake, travel to new places, share great fashion finds, and spend time doing crafts and projects at home with her kids. She’s got a crazy busy life, but she wouldn’t have it any other way! Follow her blog at ariannaknowsbest.blogspot.com!

Leave a Reply

