Baked chicken garlic and potatoes recipe and blog review

A tasty Lebanese recipe review by Hana Chelache

Lebanese baked chicken recipe

Lebanese baked garlic chicken and potatoes Photo: Russell Bowes

We’ve been eating a lot of pasta recently, which I love, but I wanted to try something different. I did a web search for Lebanese recipes, which is one of my favourite types of cuisines and originally I found this, which I thought looked amazing …

Lebanese Grilled Chicken Recipe – Djej Mishwe

… then realised I needed a Barbeque for it, which we don’t have access to living in a concrete shoebox (AKA a small apartment). Such a shame, I’m sure it would have been really nice.

Anyway I saw this recipe for Baked Garlic Chicken and Potatoes on the same blog and thought I’d give it a try . The results were really tasty so I thought I’d share it with you.

>> Read the recipe

I’d really recommend this recipe. It was simple to make and the results were impressive. The garlic sauce gave it a really zingy taste, although a word of warning it is a strong taste, so if you don’t like garlic it might not be for you. Luckily Russell loves garlic and usually asks me to put extra garlic in when I cook, so it went down very well with him. I’d recommend having it with a simple salad (a good Middle Eastern one is to dice a cucumber, tomatoes and spring onions and add some chopped parsley. Then cover it with a light dressing made of lemon juice, olive oil, crushed garlic and a pinch of Lebanese Seven Spice mix and pepper).

lots of garlic sauce makes this a punchy Lebanese dish

lots of garlic sauce makes this a punchy Lebanese dish Photo: Russell Bowes

Being used to roasting chicken and potatoes uncovered, with the aim of making them crispy I was a bit wary of the fact you cover the chicken with the potato slices and don’t turn them but it worked out really nicely, as the garlic sauce seeps in. It tastes more like a “bake” than a “roast” (think potato gratin with a Middle Eastern twist).

I would also recommend finding the Lebanese Seven Spice mix (traditionally called Baharat), for this recipe or any other dish which uses it. It’s not always the most readily available thing but it really makes a difference and brings a real spicy richness to the food.

Chez Marcelle, London. Delicious Meze

Feeling adventurous? Try making a Mezee

I found the recipe on this blog, Mama’s Lebanese Kitchen. I’ll definitely be trying some of the other recipes on there.

If you’re feeling ambitious why not try making a Mezze (a range of dishes which everyone can help them selves to. Russell and I made one for a party last year) which went down really well. Unfortunately we forgot to take any photos, but there a few recipes in this article below.

>> Mezze Feast for a Party

Today’s guest post was brought to you by Hana, you can check out some of her other guest recipes – like a delishious summer soothie  below.

Summer smoothie recipe

Summer smoothie recipe

2 responses to “Baked chicken garlic and potatoes recipe and blog review

  1. Pingback: Snappy post: Sausage Traybake | russellskitchen·

  2. Pingback: Weekend catch up and Sausage tray bake recipe | russellskitchen·

Leave a Reply

