Weekend catch up and Sausage tray bake recipe

sausage tray bake

Sausage and new potato tray bake Photo: Russell Bowes

It’s been a funny old week this week. I would love to say I have been run ragged or had a lot on but the truth is that I have just been a bit slower this week at getting things done. Maybe it is because I have had several nights in a row where I haven’t been able to get to sleep and so have been sitting on the sofa at half one in the morning wishing a little bit of shut eye on myself, or maybe I am just making excuses as I was super productive last week. I started out the week being a little ahead so who knows where time goes, maybe it’s down the back of the sofa along with the many pairs of socks I seem to be missing.

Anyway this is supposed to be a food blog so I’d better get to something tasty, only thing is I don’t seem to have cooked much this week either. Seriously, what have I been doing? I do however have some nice foodie pictures to share with you and an update on the Sausage tray bake (spoiler, we may have found the recipe!)

Sausage tray bake: update

So for Wednesday’s post I looked at this lovely sausage tray bake recipe which Hana cooked for us last week and I mentioned we found it in the May edition of the Morrisons magazine. I wanted to share the recipe with you but shock horror! It looked like we had thrown out the magazine and couldn’t get another from the local Morrisons. Well, just after I published that post it turned out that Hana had found our copy. So I thought I would share it with you now anyway. The recipe is from the Morrisons magazine which is available both from stores and as an online version. We adapted this a little by using more herbs and a different kind of mustard but as I said before it worked really well. Want something to serve it with? Try Hana’s rustic roast potatoes!

Maple-glazed sausages with aubergines and tomatoes
This made 3 servings
Time: about 1 hour

1-2 large aubergines
2tsp smoked paprika
4tbsp olive oil
2 red onions
2 sprigs of rosemary
1tsp dried oregano
Handful of fresh thyme
7-10 cherry or baby tomatoes
12 chipolatas
6tbsp maple syrup
2tsp grain mustard

Recipe

Preheat your oven to 180c/ gas mark 4. Cut the aubergine in to slightly larger than bite sized cubes, toss with half the olive oil and paprika.

Sprinkle the rest of the olive oil on the bottom of a roasting tin. Chop the red onions into wedges and pop them in along with the herbs (rosemary, thyme and oregano). Toss everything to get a good coat of the oil. Pop in the warm oven for 20 minutes, adding the tomatoes then cook for a further 15 minutes.

Meanwhile make the glaze by whisking the maple syrup mustard and a bit more rosemary. Toss with the sausages. The official recipe is to BBQ them but Hana cooked these in the oven for around 20 minutes or so.

Serve with Hana’s rustic roast potatoes and maybe a nice glass of wine too!

Baked chicken and left overs

Lebanese chicken recipe

Lebanese chicken and garlic potatoes

Last week Hana wrote a review of a gorgeous Lebanese baked chicken recipe which instantly became one of my all-time top 5 favourite meals. I had to make it again this week and here is a nice picture of it for lunch the next day. You can find the original recipe here.

 

 

One response to “Weekend catch up and Sausage tray bake recipe

  1. Pingback: This week in Russell’s Kitchen | russellskitchen·

Leave a Reply

