Ultimate leftover’s sandwich – Roast Pork

What to do with Sunday’s leftovers

leftover roast pork sandwich

Roast Pork Sandwich with blue cheese and walnut pesto

Last weekend I decided to roast up a huge bit of delish pork leg I got from Morrisons. Had I been shopping with my stomach and not my head again as I ended up coming home Saturday with the hugest bit meat – clearly more than enough for Hana and I? Well no. I’d used my head and bought a roasting joint large enough to carry us through a few extra meals too.

Later in the week we had a couple of nice quick little stir fry’s (using a Sharwoods sauce sachet) but today I’m going to focus on an awesomely huge and very much man-sized sandwich. We’ll use a homemade pesto which comes adapted from a Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall River Cottage recipe. I really liked this and I think it worked well as part of a cold pork sandwich, it would have worked equally well with beef, lamb or venison but would over power poultry such as chicken.

“If I do say so myself that’s a pretty good sandwich!”

I’ll probably make this again at some point and try it out as either a pasta sauce or a dip for raw vegetables but for now it works fantastically as a base for this awesome sandwich.

I you’re thinking a sandwich doesn’t sound like much of an evening meal, think again. This bad boy is packed with salad to keep it healthy, a tasty pesto which is massively packed with flavour and tender strips of your roast pork from Sunday. I served it as an open sandwich, you can get more filling in that way!

Let’s tuck in!


Roast Pork Sandwich for two – recipe

Roast Pork sandwich

Roast Pork sandwich

Ingredients

  • French stick/ baguette
  • 1 packet rocket leaf
  • Jar of roasted red peppers
  • 200g thinly sliced roast pork

Blue cheese pesto

  • Olive oil
  • Black pepper
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 100g flat leaf parsley
  • 100g blue cheese
  • 100g walnuts
  • Juice of half a lemon

Method

Start by making the blue cheese pesto. Add the walnuts and garlic cloves to a blender or food processor and blitz till a coarse paste. Wash the parsley then dry it out and tear it into the blender and blitz it down. I found it best to do this in batches as the parsley tends to stick up the blades. Crumble the cheese in and add the lemon juice and black pepper. As you are pulsing the mix, slowly pour in the olive oil to bring it to your desired consistency. I preferred a coarser and chunkier paste.

Assemble your sandwich

Slice a generous portion of baguette and cut in half. Spread both halves with the blue cheese & walnut pesto. Top both sides with rocket. On one side add two red peppers then finish with the roast pork.

If I do say so myself that’s a pretty good sandwich!


Check out the Groom Blog, my journal of our wedding plans over the next year or so to our big day. You can see the first post which is an awesome cheesecake cake recipe here.

Leave a Reply

