Meatless Monday: Sweet Corn Pesto Sauce

Simple Sweet Corn Pesto Recipe

Sweet Corn Pesto Recipe

Sweet Corn Pesto Recipe

I love creating new recipes for homemade pesto’s and pasta sauces. Making your own pesto is one of the simplest meals to make but at the same time I find it very satisfying to do. When I’m thinking of cooking a meal in the week sometimes I can feel a little lazy, we can at times when it comes to cooking. You want a big hearty meal, something full of goodness and vegetables but times is at a premium and your energy is low. What’s the answer?

For me, I find making a fresh pesto-style sauce works extremely well. Something like this can be prepared in minutes, in fact as you just have to blend together most of the ingredients the part that takes the most time is cooking the pasta to go with it. I have made lots of other homemade pesto recipes and you can find my pesto recipes here.

Ingredients: Serves 3 people

1 can/ 340g canned sweet corn 1 handful of fresh basil Freshly grated zest of 1 lemon and half the juice 4 cloves of garlic, crushed 80g toasted almonds 50g grated parmesan cheese Olive oil Pepper to taste Your choice of pasta for 3 people.

Sweet Corn Pesto Recipe:

Ingredients for Sweet Corn Pesto Recipe

Ingredients for Sweet Corn Pesto Recipe

Pop on a pan of boiling water and prepare the pasta according to the pack instructions.

Place all the pesto ingredients in a food processor and add just enough olive oil to allow the ingredients to blend. Start pulsing and gradually add more olive oil to reach your desired consistency. I prefer to keep sauces like this a little chunky but still smooth so I usually add more oil at the beginning so I don’t have to pulse it for too long.

Homemade Pesto Recipe

Homemade Pesto Recipe

Once cooked drain your pasta and reserve half a cup of cooking water. Add to the sauce and give it a list pulse or two, to incorporate it.

Stir the sweet corn pesto sauce through the pasta and serve. You shouldn’t need any more veggies on the side as meals is packed full of goodness.


Russell BowesText and photos By Russell Bowes Find me on Google Plus, catch up and message me on Twitter and see more great pictures on Flickr and Instagram. Pin with me on Pintrest.

Leave a Reply

