BGO Superhero Cinema Night

Hana and I had a pretty busy February. As well as a couple of valentine’s day meals out, including a great one at Smoke and Salt and celebrating Hana’s 30th birthday, we were also invited to a private screening of the blockbuster movie hit X-Men: Days of Future Past. The evening was hosted at the British Film Institute (BFI) by BGO games and Joe Blogs.

Who’s your favourite superhero or comic book character? For a lifetime comic book fan such as me, that’s a pretty difficult question to ask. There are so many characters who I love. Iron Man has long been a favourite and growing up I loved the wit of Spiderman. Perhaps the one which I most loved when I was younger, and still today were the X-Men comics and early 1990’s animated series. I was always fascinated by the messages behind it’s story lines.

Some of my favourite superheroes

Some of my favourite superheroes

If you know me you’ll know that I have always been a massive fan of Marvel and (just about) everything they do. I grew up loving these characters, the comic books and animated series were a huge part of my childhood, teenage years and still are in adulthood. So when I got the chance to go to a private screening of an X-Men movie I couldn’t resist.

I’ve got some lovely photos and a video which BGO kindly took and shared with me from the evening which you can see through this post.

Film Forever British Film Institute

Film Forever British Film Institute

The evening was held at the British Film Institute (BFI) in their more intimate venue on Stephen Street where BGO games rolled out the red carpet and some VIP treatment for a small group of us bloggers. I didn’t know the BFI have screenings right in the heart of West End but it looks like Stephen Street is used for intimate and private screenings like this, so we were pretty lucky to be invited.

Superhero Cinema Night Foyer

Superhero Cinema Night Foyer

The foyer at the BFI was decorated for the evening with scenes from comic books, a red carpet and cutouts of some of my favourite heroes – Hana had to get a few shots of me showing off my superhero self with them!

Iron Man and Me

Iron Man and Me

We started off with some drinks, canapes and bags of sweets whilst mingling and playing some superhero themed games.

Sweeties and drinks

Sweeties and drinks

The evening was to promote BGO’s new selection of X-Men and Marvel themed slot games which features comic book stalwarts such as The Incredible Hulk, Spider-Man, (my favourite) Iron Man and the incomparable X-Men team. We got to try them out, without risking any money, on some iPad stations set up around the foyer.

I always love sliders

I always love sliders

I hadn’t tried online gaming of this type before but it was fun to give it a go and I did better than I expected, though I still managed to ‘lose’ some of the play money were were using.

Mini fish and chips plates

Mini fish and chips plates

After grabbing some tasty treats, like sliders (aka mini burgers), mini plates of fish and chips, little pizza’s and a beer it was time to head downstairs to the cinema room and enjoy our private screening of X-Men: Days of Future Past. Hana brought us one of the bags of sweets down and we also got some sweet and salted popcorn too.

BGO Superhero game stations

BGO Superhero game stations

Superhero games from BGO

Superhero games from BGO

We’d both seen Day’s of Future Past before and both loved it. First time around we watched it on the Tivo at home so it was nice to finally see all that great action on the big screen. I didn’t start out as a huge fan of Hugh Jackman as wolverine way back in 2000 but he has really grown on me since then and seeing him on screen with James McAvoy and the brilliant Michael Fassbender was really great!

BFI Privite Screening

BFI Privite Screening

X-Men Days of Future Past Screening BFI

X-Men Days of Future Past Screening BFI

Both of us had a great evening thanks to BGO and Joe Blogs. You can find out more about the evening and BGO’s range of super games here.


Russell BowesText and photos By Russell Bowes Find me on Google Plus, catch up and message me on Twitter and see more great pictures on Flickr and Instagram. Pin with me on Pintrest.

Leave a Reply

