Homemade Seafood Pasta

My homemade seafood pasta recipe

Nothing quite says holiday food like some fantastic fish or seafood. Though I love popping off to across Europe to different cities and towns, I always like to find one by a river or close to the coast. That way I’ll always get to try some great fish and seafood dishes whilst I’m away. To me the taste of the sea means life and relaxation.

Santorini seafood pasta

Santorini seafood pasta

I love sumptuous seafood dishes with unctuous sauces and I’m passionate about pasta. Some of the best meals I have eaten in beautiful coastal towns and villages have been simple seafood pasta dishes just like the one below.  

Fish and seafood in Camogli

Fish and seafood in Camogli

I’ve been lucky enough to sample fantastic seafood close to where it is caught and cooked. I’ve had some fantastic versions of seafood pasta over the years from this one on Santorini, Greece at Mama’s House to this beautiful version in Liguria, Italy on our honeymoon. I also had some of Belgium’s famous mussels when I visited back in May this year.

Mussles from Brussels

Mussles from Brussels

Photo: Welsh Red Snapper

There are so many versions of seafood pasta and I don’t think there is such as thing as a definitive recipe (might be showing my ignorance there!). Even in the same country I’ve been to lots of little restaurants and cafes, each with their own way of making this dish. But each and every time I’ve been pleasantly surprised with a new take on it.
So this is my version of seafood pasta. It might not be exactly the way you prefer or make it, but I think it’s pretty good. To boost the seafood flavour I’ve used a Knorr Fish Stockpot. It gives the dish a little more of a richer and darker flavour which I like. You can use any stock you have in, I used that one as it was in the cupboard, but it’s quite good!

Here we go, easy seafood linguine, packed with mussels, prawns and squid.

Homemade Seafood Pasta

  • Servings: 2
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 3 cloves garlic, sliced
  • ½ red chilli, diced
  • 1 can baby plum tomatoes
  • 350g mixed seafood (frozen)
  • 10 cherry tomatoes, halved
  • Linguini
  • Fish stock pot
  • Olive oil
  • 2tsp Paprika
  • 100ml water
  • Half a bunch fresh parsley, roughly chopped.
  • Half a lemon sliced into two.

Recipe

  • Prepare all the ingredients as directed. Add a good glug of olive oil to a pan and fry the garlic, chilli, paprika and 3-4 large prawns from the seafood mix for 2-3 minutes.
  • Add the can of baby plum tomatoes along with the cherry tomatoes and the fish stock pot along with 100ml water. Gently simmer for 10 minutes.
  • Remove the pan from the heat and blend the sauce till smooth then return to the heat to gently simmer.
  • Put your pasta onto boil in unsalted water.
  • Add the seafood to the smooth sauce and continue to simmer.
  • When the pasta is cooked reserve a little pasta water and drain the rest.
  • Add the pasta to the sauce along with a little pasta water if needed to loosen the mixture. Stir the parsley through the pasta and serve with a slice of lemon

Russell BowesRecipe, text and photos By Russell Bowes Find me on Google Plus, catch up and message me on Twitter and see more great pictures on Flickr and Instagram. Pin with me on Pintrest.

Leave a Reply

