Smoked salmon with chive pancakes

Last night I wrote a post about shrove Tuesday or pancake day, one of my favourite days! I put in a little history about shrove Tuesday and why people traditionally made pancakes. As it was quite late I cut the post short and didn’t include the recipe for the savoury pancake dish we had. I didn’t think about it at the time but Hana thought it seemed quite Sweedish. I don’t know if that would be true but I do see the connection she was making. The recipe was for Chive pancakes with Smoked Salmon and a green salad with mustard vinegarete.

So as its quite late again today it will be another short post. With out fuether adué here is the recipe.

Ingredients,

Pancakes

140g flour
250ml milk
1 egg
A handful of chives, snipped very finely. (I used my kitchen scissors for this)
Vegetable oil to cook.

Salad
A whole head of good lettuce or a nice mix of different types.
100g mange tout

Dressing
2tsp Dijon mustard
100ml olive oil
Handful of chives again finely snipped
Juice of 1 Lemon

200g Smoked Salmon

Recipe,

Pop a pan of water on to boil and cook the mange tout for 2-3 minutes so they are still crisp. As they are going in the salad its okay to let them cool.

Prepare the dressing by whisking the mustard with the olive oil. Do this in stages to prevent it from splitting. Add in the chives and whisk through before slowly adding th lemon juice. It should whisk to an emulsion.

To make thr pancakes sift the flour. Not everyone does this but I find they are lighter and taste better if you do. Add the egg and milk and whisk to a batter. Toss in the chives.

Cook the pancakes by shallow frying in a frying pan in batches, they should take 1-2 minutes each. If your feeling up to it try tossing the pancakes. Dry them on kitchen papper to absorb any excess fat.

Assemble 2 pancakes with some of the salad leafs and mange tout. Divide the salmon between you and drizzle with the dressing.

Num num!

20120222-225651.jpg

20120222-225711.jpg

2 responses to “Smoked salmon with chive pancakes

  1. Russell, I loved the idea of your smoked salon! It gives a whole new meaning to burning one’s fingers – or perhaps it’s a case of no smoke without fire… I had a fantastic soup in a bun last year in Karlovy Vary in the Czech Republic, but possibly my favourite dish is sheep’s knees, which my mother bravely sampled in the Kum Cafe, just down the road from our apartment in Orahovac, Montenegro. She declared it delicious.

    Like

    • Thanks for the comment. I typed that post on my iPad and it has a habit of auto correcting words which don’t need to be corrected, but all put right now. I think the idea of soup in a bun is interesting? How do you cook sheep’s knees? Certainly a part of the animal I have not tried before!

      Like

Leave a comment